Week Two-


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
May 24th 2010
Published: May 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

One week of training down and I have some prospective. What we have been doing in my opinion is a whole lot that could have just been emailed to us and we could be working at our placements already. Don't get me wrong, I am enjoying my time just bumming around and not doing all that much, but it is sort of frustrating because I am cooped up in a classroom all day and I haven't really gotten to see that much of Chiang Mai. They asked us today to do some ridiculous exercise about trying to live on a dollar a day. I might sound like a terrible person by saying this, but I don't think it is necessary or possible for a person in my position to realistically simulate what that is like. 1. I have paid for air conditioned accommodations; 2. I have internet, phone, tv, ect. so when I would just be sitting there doing nothing I have things to do even if I am not spending money. 3. I live in a wealthy area of a city. If I was living on $1 I would not be here.. there is inflation. Maybe we should try $2 a day. 4. I am only in Chiang Mai for 2 weeks, I am not going to spend 3 nights sitting and doing nothing. Especially because for five of them there has been a government imposed curfew so I have spent those nights just sitting in my apartment hanging out and drinking beer.

Which brings me to the curfew and political situation. It is funny, but at my friend pointed out I almost wish I had something to talk about to make all of the curfew nonsense seem worthwhile. For 4 nights the curfew was 9pm and for 2 (including tonight) it is 11pm. We have been following it for the most part, except last night when we broke it by about an hour and everything has been fine. That first day there were protests on the other side of the city but basically it equated to a group of men standing around burning tires. There is some talk of all of the protesters coming here, and it does put us all a little on edge, but nothing we can do but live our lives and try not to be stupid.

On a more positive note, I have managed to do some pretty cool things over the past 10 or so days. First off, I have made some really great friends that I enjoy hanging out with. It is sad that we are not all going to be in the same place for most of this summer, but it has made the last week really enjoyable. One friend lives in DC so that is fun, but others live in Sydney, Melbourne, and Vancouver for example so they are really far away. 😞 See my facebook for pictures of all of my people and some of the sights I have been seeing. I have been to more temples than a person should in their life in the past week so that is mainly what they are of. I went to a bar called Monkey Club, and we were the only westerners there and there was a live band playing and it was really fun so that was cool. I also climbed up a huge mountain. It was quite a feat for me since I have never been hiking before, and it was somewhat hard even for experienced people. After that, I went with some people and got lunch then went to the women's prison to get a massage. Yes, you read that right a massage in the prison. It is part of the rehabilitation program, so inmates do traditional thai massages. 5 of us went as a group and they put you in robes that make you look like you are in a mental institution and all of the massages take place in the same room. Afterwords we went to the pool and hung out for a few hours before dinner and the night market. The pool chlorine is turning my hair green however, so that is no good. Any suggestions on how to fix that?

Last night we went to a TCH bar. We just drank there, and I actually saw no drugs, but that is was it was called. It was sort of a hazard because you had to climb up these almost ladder like steps to get to the rooftop and in the bar, you had to remove your shoes and everyone sat on the floor. It was a cool idea, but all of the people there were just wasted travelers. It made me see how different of a lifestyle we lead verses the causal tourist. They honestly annoyed the hell out of me, so we just talked amongst ourselves. The market we went to beforehand was amazing! It was huge and had some awesome stuff. Luckily for me I had no cash so I couldn't buy anything because I don't really need anything.

Even though parts of this post sound a little grumpy, I actually am having a good time, and I am glad I am here. I am looking forward to getting through this bullshit and actually starting my job, but then I am also sad that I will be leaving the friends I have made.

I miss you all!! and CONGRATULATIONS BECCA AND BRAD!

Advertisement



24th May 2010

Sounds like you will be coming home with lots of good stories and experiences. If anyone knows how to make the most of it, its you. Keep enjoying yourself... the blog was a good idea and it's nice to know you're enjoying your time for the most part! We miss you here! Ellen

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb