Lagon! My Fair Chiang Mai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
February 27th 2010
Published: February 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Alas, my time in Chiang Mai has come to a bittersweet conclusion. My time here has been filled with delicious food, melodic music, entertaining venues, and amazing friends. I will miss this city more than I thought was possible upon my arrival and it may be the Gilby’s talking, but I will always love Chiang Mai, Thailand.

The final week here began with a set of goodbyes. As my classmates departed one by one for various destinations far and wide, I was forced to throw up one final “C” to send off my fellow Changster’s. It was a sad yet expected step along my journey abroad. I will miss all of the new friends I have made in the TEOL course, yet I know that someday soon I will reunite with them in some foreign city unknown to us yet.

After the farewell’s I moved into a new apartment a bit closer to the city center. The Western House is a fine establishment that meets all my traveling needs: a bed, air conditioning, and a fridge. It’s really all I ever need. So I unpacked my bags once again and set up base camp for my final week in Chiang Mai.

After setting up shop, I began to explore the neighborhood. I must say, the area near the North Gate (otherwise known as Chang Puack) is a sight to see. Multiple temples, monuments, shrines, and old castle walls litter an area no more than 1 square kilometer.

The Mornthean Temple was only a short distance form my apartment and it was beautiful. Along with the spectacular Wat in the front of the temple, there was a gigantic Buddah statue next to it that overlooks the entire city and makes for a breathtaking view. It is an amazing sight to see. I also checked out Wat Lok Molee, Wat Chaing Yeun, and the rest of the area around Chang Phuak. It was a beautiful day for touring around and despite the heat, I had a great time snapping off some pictures and enjoying my last tour around the city.

Besides the traditional touristic duties I have as a traveler, I of course took part in my usual nightly activities. One night, Barnabus and I decided it was a great idea to invest in a bottle of Gilby’s Gin, a few small bottles of tonic, and a two-hour long stay at a pool hall. I must say, it started out to be a great night. The Gilby’s was from 2008 (a very good year for gin) and it went down smoother than a Dairy Queen blizzard on a scorching summers day. Fun fact… in Thailand, DQ blizzards are the low low price of only 35 baht.. that’s only $1 folks! Simply amazing. Anyway, as I was saying, Barnabus began by pretty much demolishing me 3 games to none as I struggled to hide my embarrassment from such a poor showing. I really thought I was a bit better than this at pool. Then again, maybe not.
However, though Barnabus may have had the skill on his side.. I my friends.. had the Gilbys. Not four games in the delicious liquid from Olympus began to take its tole on my opponent, rendering him momentarily weekend as I was capable of defeating him in 2 world class matches. After that….. well…. By now if you know me… you know I remember little.

I woke up with a bag of half eaten peanuts (I do love my peanuts) on my stomach and the television blaring some ridiculous Thai pop song. Nothing really says hangover like the unbearable screeching of a Thai pop singer serenading you to begin the day. Another battle against Gilbys: Andrew 1…. Gilbys… 487. I’ll get you yet my old nemesis!

So one of the most interesting and random things that I have ever done in my life also took place on this fateful week: I was in a French move! That’s right, “oui oui” “bonjour” and “ces que c’est” mon ami! I had the chance to be an extra in a French movie sequel. The name of the movie is Largo Winch 2: The Burma Conspiracy, it comes out next December in theatres and with my acting skills, I am sure to be on the promotional poster, so keep a look out. The movie is based on a comic book and the first installment apparently broke box office records in France and was very popular. I guess it is similar to the “Bourne Identity” series. So obviously, after next December its off to Paris with me to try and tell the girls I am a movie star… surely they will recognize me right?

The experience was a fulfilling one though; I really had a chance to get a look at the inner workings of a big picture movie and how much time and effort is needed to do the simplest things. For example, in one of my scenes I had to walk by the main character with my counterpart (R2D2… hahahaha.. o some times I crack myself up), look at a map, and then point off into the distance. While on the finished product this scene takes about 30 seconds, in actuality it took about 3 hours to film it. We had to run it time after time after time after time until finally the director felt it was perfect. I felt my job was well done as well. During next years Oscar Ceremony I expect to win the coveted “Extra Award” for “Guy Looking Intently at Map and Pointing in a Completely Masculine Manner Into the Distance.” I will just have so many people to thank.

I got a chance to talk to a lot of the crew during breaktimes and got a lot of information about the first installment of the movie and what this one would be like. The director of photography was very well known and worked on films like “True Lies” and “Avatar” so this was not some rag-tag crew working on a low budget film. I really cant wait to see it when it comes out and see the leading character Andrew “The Gun” Godlewski barrel through steel walls and defeat criminals the world over while….. well… pointing at a map.

But seriously, it was a great day but very tiring and a lot of work. I was there for a solid 15 hours in the heat.. I mean it still is Thailand. The best consolation was seeing the leading lady.. Vaa Vaa Voom. Due to my incredible fortune, her and the main character had to begin their last scene at a table I was sitting at with my wife. Easy, easy, not my real wife, just my wife in the movie. So, I had ample time in between takes to talk to the two stars and they were very friendly to me. It was a blast.
The cast, crew, and other extras all made for a great day. I really learned a lot about what goes into film making and will forever be more appreciative of the cinema after this experience. It was a once in a lifetime adventure I will not soon forget. See you at the Oscar’s Largo!

After my brief brush with Frenchywood (who isn’t going to laugh at that… Frenchywood… classic), I planned one last excursion with Barnabus up North and into the mountains. We saddled our noble steeds “La Rambla” and “The Red Dragon,” picked up our beautiful Thai friend Aaew, and rode off into the great unknown. Well, unknown to me at least… Barnabus knew where he was going.. in fact…. He had just gone a few weeks before.. so not that unknown at all. Still though, it was adventurous.

Along the way, I had my new favorite meal in Thailand, Kao Soi. This delicious dish consists of meat (usually chicken or beef) red curry, pickled cabbage, lemon juice, onions, and a medley of other vegetables. It is served in a bowl with chopsticks and a spoon. It is by far the tastiest food I have ever eaten in Thailand. Though it is a bit spicy, you just need to suck it up and enjoy the vast array of flavors that tickle your taste buds into a euphoric state.

The ride North was filled with spectacular scenery through and through. The lush, thick jungle trees complemented the towering mountains off in the distance through every twist and turn of the mountain road. We were able to pull over quite a few times to take some great pictures to remember the trip by. However, after riding on a bike for 2 ½ hours, it takes a toll on your hind side.. a big toll. Seriously, it became difficult to even walk after the trip was through. Breaks were surely welcomed whenever we could catch one.
We ended the trip at the Mork-Fa Waterfall. Getting to the actual falls was one of the most difficult tasks for La Rambla to complete. The road took multiple rapid climbs up ridiculously steep hills, each keeping La Rambla puttering hard like Thomas the Train.. “I think I can, I think I can.” She finally did make it to the top; however, Barnabus’ “Red Dragon” was not as fortunate. At the peak of her assent, she let out a grueling sputter that signaled her engine failure. We thought that might be the end of Barnubus’ faithful ride for good. Just when all hope had faded though, a spark ignited and “The Red Dragon” awoke to continue the journey.
After parking the bikes and walking a bit through the jungle, we rounded a corner as the falls came into view. The massive mountain above poured down the rivers water into a small pool below. It was the largest waterfall I have ever seen in my life. We spent a lot of time there just hanging out, talking, and snapping off some pictures. However, as it always does, it started to get dark and we had to rush home to Chiang Mai.

Once we got back to Chiang Mai, I was forced to say farewell to one of my best new friends. Saying goodbye to my motorbike La Rambla was like having a limb amputated. La Rambla and I have seen it all together, the bars, the sights, the friends, and the open road outside of the city. We have been through the best of times and the worst of times during my stay here, and we have done it all hand in handlebar, eye to mirror. Sure, she threw me for a bit of a ride after my accident, but I feel as though she did it as a warning to drive more carefully on these deadly chaotic roads. Without her by my side, I don’t think Chiang Mai would have quite been the same. I will miss the feel of her as I gassed up the engine and blasted off through the night streets, and surely she will miss my angelic voice belting out “Wonderwall,” “Against The Wind,” and “Piano Man,” as we took those many rides together. Goodbye my old friend, and good luck to your next rider!

For my final night in Chiang Mai, I went out with some friends to dinner by the Ping River. The restaurant was very nice; there was a great live band, and delicious food. It was the perfect sending off to the perfect trip to Chiang Mai. The next morning, I packed my things, moved out of my apartment and waited around for the bus to take me to Bangkok. I said my final farewell to good ole Barnabus, who was so kind to play tour guide/ drinking buddy, to me during my stay, and drove South for my old stomping ground in the Metro-Jungle.

That was pretty much it for my final week in Chiang Mai. I did not expect to enjoy this city nearly as much as I did before arriving. It just goes to show that every city, every country, every experience holds something new and exciting in it. It is worth exploring every opportunity even if hesitant at first, after all, it could be one of the best decisions you ever made. Carpe vita!




Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



1st March 2010

Love it.

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb