First days


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
November 18th 2009
Published: November 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ever wondered how would it feel to change plans that you have made for month on a whim? Ever tried to walk to a plane ticket counter and ask for a ticket for the next available plane anywhere? Yah, me either. I actually tried it today (well, I did keep destination in mind) Sometime during my long, long flight from JFK to Bangkok I wondered why I have decided to stay in BKK for two days and only after those days, spend doing who knows what, to travel to Chiang Mai? Why not to do it right away? I will be at the airport already, I don’t have to sit in hours of traffic that way, don’t have to spend extra money on anything associated with Bangkok...So, I have decided to try to buy a ticket for the next available flight to Chiang Mai upon arrival to Thailand. It was successful. (The booking, not so much the arrival,passport control was really slow) For a mere $60 I was able to get a ticket for a plane that was leaving within the next hour. Success (you can say so, Average price when you try to book on line is about $40, but considering short notice and savings on taxi to/from Bangkok (about 600-700b=20-25$) I was at least breaking even. Upon arrival to Chiang Mai I exchanged money at the airport (no fee if use cash at 32b per 1$) and took a taxi to the center of town (120b=4$, close to what my lonely planet guide was suggesting 100b) I asked the cabdriver for the advice about guesthouse (did not want to use any of the 4 that were listed in guest book) Regret this decision now. The room I took (paid for 1 night so far) has two twin beds, a closet, shower (hot) and even TV. It is however a bit old, looks kind of depressing, don’t think it is very clean and costs more then I want to spend (550b, about $17, per night for the room with a/c and hot shower; would be 350b if fan, not ac). I am planning to do some researching tomorrow for a new place to stay, hostel preferable.
After taking a shower and changing I have tried to use my new netbook to send some letters and update my blog. The connection at the hotel is frustratingly slow. The only place to connect to internet is a common lobby. You have to plug the computer in, there is no wireless network. You can also use the computer that is available at the lobby (that is exactly what I did, after finding out that the adapter plug I have brought from home does not fit). The lack of adapter was a little frustrating (battery was low on netbook already), so I went out to hunt for some techie stuff, as well as some food. The hotel I am currently at is in close proximity to the night market (starts at about 6pm) and suggested everything electronic/computer store is about 2 blocks away. The suggested store is actually a mall. Has a lot of eveythings, including Staples. (I also saw McD, Bking, StarBuks, & 7eleven so far) I found an adapter ( 45b=1.50$) and got earphones (with very cute smiley faces on them 120b=4$) Suggestion for those of you who are planning to travel and don’t have some minor gear (like adapters, earphones, various electronic accessories or even such things as shampoo, toothpaste, basic clothe - t-shirts, pants, skirts) everything you are planning to buy at home, you can buy here for a fraction of the price (keeping in mind of course, that fake things/or non brand name items would be inexpensive, but if you want a real thing it would cost you the same)
So, after a bit of shopping it was time for food. I was browsing the night bazaar for a while, but there were no stalls with native food, just people on bikes running around and offering something exclusively to locals ( in little plastic bags that you eat with sort of a toothpick after, at least that what locals were doing). There were some restaurants that I wanted to avoid (who wants pizza, Mexican, fish/chips...or any such thing here?) After wondering around for a while I came across a sign with Belgian Rochfort 8 picture. After inquiring within, yes, they actually carry this beer. I have decided to have some (non-local, shame on me) beer and snack on some Belgian food. In my native NY this trappist beer is rare to come by (I know of only 4 places where it is served) and it is expensive (last time I paid 18$) Here beer was kind of expensive as well 195b (close to 7$), the snack that went with it was pricey too (210b=7$) cheese platter. The experience was well worth it however. Beer was good, cheese was good and it was fun to people watch (the restaurant is more like cafe, open air sitting)


Advertisement



19th November 2009

Great! I'll be waiting for next entry - I sort of forget about my numerous assignments and loooong trips to the Bronx, when I read your meticulous guide :)
19th November 2009

Belgian food? Ha-Ha-Ha

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb