surely something wonderful


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
March 11th 2008
Published: March 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sometimes when I open my mouth and lips lacerate words in a high-pitched quick-paced Thai, I suspect there's a cultural veil billowing between us transforming my words into a pink mist. A freshly scented hint, inaudible, awkward and cool. And symbolic of nothing. At most, the air about them is slightly tintinnabulated, barely shivering with the nonthreatening, subtle disturbance that was me. And sometimes I imagine a distant cousin of this same veil is tickling each delicate iris of mine, teasing and mocking the things we see, tugging us into mutilation of this world we're in. Taunting us to believe we walk amongst distopia. A terrible place where everyone is miserable, shallow, depraved. Nothing is worth our time. With which we do what? Surely something wonderful.

Kaytee Bodle is in Bangkok. In Bangkok and pending travel. I think even her proximity, perhaps, gets words rearing and stomping and prancing proud for nothing like equine in winter. How exciting. And what will we do with ourselves? Surely something wonderful.

I crouched and giggled and, while some would say regressed, could I be so pretentious as to suggest that may be it was progress, and laughed sincerely at poorly-executed poop jokes and staged you-tube quality kung fu videos of boys being boys and braided little girls' hair into long black ropes. It was the last day and I was through being Ms. Megan and over being anyone's boss and someone else's b*tch. Said so long to paperwork and the noxious frauds littered around my desk who are sometimes referred to as teachers. And I just sat and played. And it surely was something wonderful.

I got an email from one of my second grade students on Saturday morning. The last thing she said was "you were very happy Friday." So true, so true. Little snotty geniuses. They always know.

Anyway there are no grand proclamation's of good and evil today. Only a fistful of words that were owed their due. And I've packed my journals and set them to sea and so: you're stuck with me.

But, surely, it is something wonderful.

Advertisement



11th March 2008

talent
whew, what a writer you truly are. gives me goosebumps

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb