you'll always leave something behind ...


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
March 29th 2008
Published: March 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My mantra for the past 7hrs. I have to remind myself how big the world is again ... it's amazing how it shrinks and expands at the whimsy of familiarity. You'll always leave something behind: a toothbrush, a shadow.

What I left behind:

bael tea and saffron in the back of a pick-up truck
a proper salary-to-spending ratio
2 boxes of random ass things I couldn't part with and couldn't carry
sweet Yo and crazy Tan and my new scene
luxurious goodies (laundry, pedicures, massage)
a heartbroken bartender
smiling strangers
my students
the FOOD
a language
songkran
oh my mio
markets
pai

a little bit of me.



There's a lot of me floating around Thailand still, wafting amongst the ghosts of burnt farm clouding our sunsets. Though nothing stays in Seoul. The rest is all mine. Packed in shredded gray bags and tagged and bumping down chutes into more gray, cold, and then home again.

That is until I'm tamed again. Just ask the fox.



"Ah please excuse me," said the little prince. But after some thought, he added: "What does that mean--'tame'?"

"To me, you are still nothing more than a little boy who is just like a hundred thousand other little boys. And I have no need of you. And you, on your part, have no need of me. To you I am nothing more than a fox like a hundred thousand other foxes. But if you tame me, then we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world . . ."

Advertisement



Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0929s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb