Chiang Mai day 2 - Chiang Mai dia 2


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
February 2nd 2008
Published: February 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Finally it stopped raining and I had the chance to see the Thai sun! It was such a nice morning and today it was the flower festival (apparently very big thing here), so I headed there with Alex, Charlene and Emilie to check it out. Quite interesting really, and exactly how I imagined it. Tons of stalls lined at each side of the road selling everything you can imagine, tons of thai people (and some dressed in traditional dresses) and, wild guess, tons of flowers. Evidently.

Later, the three french (and only) friends left to head to Pai, so back to being on my own. I had a great time with the so far, so it was a bit weird to say goodbye, but I am back on my own and enjoying it a lot. Visiting temples, treating myself with a thai massage (amazing!! although it was quite difficult to communicate with the masseuse coz she did not speak a work of english... which turned out in having a herbal massage instead of an essential oil massage, but ok) and reading my book in a terrace on some cushions sipping a fresh mango shake. Cant complain.

During these 2 days, I have learned the following things:

1.- Crossing a street with traffic in chiang mai safely is almost imposible, the trafiic is really busy (cars, motorbikes, tuc tucs, bikes and other non identified objects on wheels) and no place for pedestrians to cross, so only the brave ones can succeed in this town.

2.- I am lousy at bargaining prices. Must learn...

3.- No matter how much mosquito repelent you put on, mosquitos will still always bite you.


Tomorrow I have signed ip for a 2 days trek in the mountains.The standard chiang mai trek, consisting on leaving with a group and a guide to do trekking, elephant riding, waterfalls, etc. I will probably have them my first experience with the wild animal life, and that honestly I am not looking forward to, because I have already been eaten by the mosquitos in just 2 days! Inhabitants of the dark forest (you know who you are), I promise special dedicated picture riding the elephant (and hopefully a baby elephant if I can:'-)!

All for now... will tell you all about the trek at my return!

----------------------------------------------

(unofficial spanish translation)

Finalmente hoy paro de llover y pude ver el sol tailandes! Hacia una manyana preciosa y era el festival de flores (aparemente algo grande en este lugar), asi que me fui para lli con Alex, Charlene, y Emilie para ver que tal estaba. Bastante interesante, la verdad, y tal y como me lo habria imaginado,. Montones de puestos alineados a lo largo de la calle vendiendo todo lo imaginable, montones de thais (y algunos vestidos con el traje tipico) y, dificil de imaginar, montones de flores. Era como la version thai de la ofrenda de flores, vaya tela.

Mas tarde, los tres (y unicos) amigos franceses se marcharon rumbo a pai, asi que vuelta a estar conmigo misma. Me lo he pasado de conya con ellos hasta ahora, y fue un poco raro decir adios, pero ya estoy sola de nuevo y disfrutando un monton. Visitando templos, dandome un masaje tailandes (incrible!! aunque fue bastante dificil comuicarme con la que daba los masajes porque no hablaba una palaba de ingles, lo cual resulto en que me dieron un masaje herbal en lugar de uno de aceites esencials que queria, pero bueno) y leyendo mi libro en una terraza sentada en unos cojines saborando un batido de mango fresco. No me puedo quejar.

Durane estos dos dias, he aprendido los siguiente:

1.- Cruzar de modo seguro una calle con trafico en chiang mai es casi imposible. Hay un monton de trafico (coches, motos, tuc tucs, bicis, y otros objetos sobre ruedas no identificados) y no hay pasos de peatone, asi que solo los valientes pueden cruzar en este lugar.

2.- Soy muy mala regateando. debo aprender..

3.- Da igual cuanto repelente de mosquitos, los mosquitos te van a picar igualmente.

Manyana me voy a una excursion por la montanya durante 2 dias. Es la tipica excursion desde chiang mai: andar, ir en elefante, banarte en cascadas.. Va a ser mi primer encuentro con el mundo animal salvaje, y sinceramente no me muero de ganas respecto a eso en particular, teniendo en cuenta que ya he sido devorada por los mosquitos en tan solo dos dias!

Todo por ahora.. os contare todo sobre la excursion a la vuelta!!





Advertisement



Tot: 0.19s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.065s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb