Finding the grooved path through a labyrinth of sloth and rats


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
May 19th 2007
Published: May 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello again all you lovely worry-warts-

I visited a primary school outside of Chiang Mai today, finding somewhat well-spoken students from ages 3-11, whom I will be teaching at the beginning of June. Ms. A, my advisor from a company called Genuis Learning Center, a language company that focuses primarily on finding and securing jobs for foreigners in teaching English, drove me there. It was a hectic drive as she is not only an erratic driver but also completely inept when it comes to directions.

She also advised me on what water boiler to buy aka a kettle. I went to a supermaket called Tesco, an asian alternative to Costco. The even had cream cheese. Now all I have to do is secure another job (the primary school only lasts three hours), get a contract, get a visa in Malaysia, and then find bagels.

Feeling all better, boiled some eggs, found some fantastic tuna that comes in spring water - it's true what they say, the tuna IS better here. Soon, once I secure another job, I'll have to look for a motorbike.

I'll put some photos up of recent temples visited and the general beauty of daily Chiang Mai.

-Love in loaves,

Andrew

Advertisement



29th May 2007

mmm...
bagels.. but no really that Tesco place is where I wanted to go before we left Chiang Mai. Elliot had told me about that place but I could never remember what it was called. I'm glad at least you made it there.. Elliot had said it was more like Walmart and not so much Costco.. did you have to buy a membership to go there?

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb