Cooking and more elephants!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
September 25th 2004
Published: September 25th 2004
Edit Blog Post

food!  food!  food!

I think this is the Rad Na and Red Curry with fish
Hi! Thanks for checking up on my travel blog and adding those hilarious comments (traveler's diarrhea?? haha...hopefully I won't have to deal with that....I've been knocking on a lot of wood) 😊
So this weekend was action packed and fun. We went to the Chiang Mai Cooking School which runs the Wok, our favorite place to eat. It was a little iffy because we didn't know if we would be the only ones there and what exactly we would be making. It turns out that there were quite a few people and the instructors - J.Lo and Gaan were entertaining and very good at teaching. We made tons of food starting at 10am going all the way to 4pm, and I have to say all of it was delicious! We made Red Curry, Rad Na, Papaya Salad, Banana Sticky Bread...yummm...I'm drooling thinking about it! Thai dinner party when I get back for sure!
Yesterday we went on the dreaded trek...we had heard all sorts of horror stories, the jungle leeches, the drowning, the mud, the mosquitos- ahhh!!!!!!! It turns out that the one day treks are for old foggies, like us, it was great!!! Hahaa... we went to an elephant village
elephant ridingelephant ridingelephant riding

can't really see me, but that's my back and I'm on the elephant's head!
and rode elephants. Dorine and I got to ride on the elephant head!!! It was soooooo awesome! I felt badly for the poor elephant, Matim, but we fed her sugar cane afterwards. Then we went to a Karen village and then a waterfall and then bamboo rafting- none of which we actually trekked to --> we went in a nicely air conditioned minivan the whole entire way. Heehee...So much for the scary trek.
Tomorrow we head for Phuket...time for relaxing by the beach...ahhh....


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



25th September 2004

Cooking Lessons
Hey Ingrid! I want some of those Thai Cooking Lessons when I see you in the future. Have a great day! J~
26th September 2004

hi unni
i just saw someone today who asked me to say hi, but i forget who it was. maybe it was jonah? someone who wanted your email address. but for the life of me i can't remember who. i kinda think it was a girl. all i remember is that they were so amazed at your vacation. anyways ttyl
26th September 2004

Dinner party???
The food you made sounds absolutely yummy!!! The pics of food makes my tummy growl. Does that mean you will be having a dinner party and inviting all of us to show us your new skills??? I am really happy that you are having a blast...riding elephants, learning to cook, and going trekking. I can't wait to read the next installment to your trip!!! Take care of yourself!!!

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0673s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb