Thai Elephant Safari


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
September 18th 2004
Published: September 18th 2004
Edit Blog Post

I'm deleting the text from my old travel blogs here, but leaving the pictures for posterity. Or something.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Me and JaamsMe and Jaams
Me and Jaams

That's my drunk face.
Poi and XPoi and X
Poi and X

Poi and X are the French students who work -volunteer, actually - at the veggie restaurant on campus. Our conversations are normally 40% English, 30%French, 25% Thai and 5% Spanish. Roughly.
Ashlee and XAshlee and X
Ashlee and X

That's Ashlee's drunk face.
Pagoda at Wat ChammathewiPagoda at Wat Chammathewi
Pagoda at Wat Chammathewi

The pagodas at the wat were incredible - over 1200 years old and crumbling, but mostly intact. I wish the pictures were more clear.
leaving elephant campleaving elephant camp
leaving elephant camp

and heading into the jungle.
View from the elephantView from the elephant
View from the elephant

The ride was very bumpy and muddy, but also very scenic.
me and the beastme and the beast
me and the beast

Our guide got off the elephant (he'd been sitting on it's head) to take this picture of us, which made me rather nervous.


24th September 2004

Enjoying your Journal
Amanda, I am throurly enjoying reading your journal and viewing your photos. Every day when I check my email, I smile when I see you have added another entry. I read it throughly before I do anything else. Your adventures there sound similar to Geno's trip to Nepal a few years ago. Especially your drive up to the temple. He drove in a bus that almost lost it on a hilly road with deep deep gorges. Got to go now but will post again. Enjoy yourself. Uncle Clarence

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb