accuntuate the positive, eliminate the negative


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
February 26th 2007
Published: February 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

today I'm gonna start my blog off with a little message I got from another travelblogger (I know! people I've never met are reading me! I'm famous!) anyways, here's what they wrote, I hope they don't mind:

*****
Alexis,
You're blogs are all full of disasters, have you had a good day yet?

I think you'll enjoy your travels more if you do a bit more research into how things should work and how much things should cost. People will lie with a straight face to get money out of you.

Most people will try and rip you off in Asia so you need a healthy dose of skepticism. For moto drivers and such, show them a map (maybe your guidebooks map) and have an idea of what direction they should be driving in.

The other day we needed to go to another location, just 2 blocks further, than agreed upon with our moto driver. When we returned he wanted more than 5000 dong above our agreed upon price and wouldn't take my money. So, I just left it on the ground for him and he jumped on it rather fast.

Anywho, good luck in Thailand. But watch out, they'll rip you off there too.
********

so yeah, people I don't know think I'm having a crap time in Asia! woe is me!
After getting this message I re-read my previous blog and boy do I sound like a Bitter Betty. I would just like to say that most of these shitty things actually make me laugh and I write them in my dry-humourous way that everyone who knows and loves me should be used to, right? guys? hello?*sound of crickets chirping*
I should really have learned by now that tone of voice does not translate into writing!
anyways, I think that the good times are usually uneventful to write about so I end up writing about the bad things more often than not. In this blog I will attempt to write about the positive.

ahem

the flight to Bangkok was smooth, got in right on time. I tried unsuccessfully to get another flight that day to Chiang Mai, so I had to take the airport shuttle to Khao San Road so I could put my extra bag into storage. While in the backpacker ghetto I booked a train ticket for that night then dicked around for the few hours in between. I watched 'Miss.Potter' a lame movie about the life of Beatrix Potter. I bought a book. I got on the train and nothing bad happened! YAYAYAYAYAYAY! I found my guesthouse easily and the people there are nice.
Okay, I'm boring even myself, bad times=funny and more interesting! or maybe there's something wrong with me, I can't be positive! damn!

anways, skipping some stuff, the people that run my guesthouse invited me to join them at their Iranian friend's house for dinner and I went, along with another girl staying there. It was cool to be invited to someone's home here since it happens for backpackers so infrequently. He kept feeding us more and more until I felt ready to burst. I peaced out early cuz I knew I had to get up today for... CLIMBING!!!
climbing was awesome, there's some stuff to complain about but I'll not do it in the name of being positive. I gotta mention that this one Aussie guy was wearing short shorts and when he spread his legs over a chasm on a particularly difficult climb we all got quite the crotch shot. All his mates got out their cameras, as you do.
I was more filthy than I've been yet in all the 5 months I've been away, there was dirt between my toes and under my toenails. Gross.

tomorrow I'm supah stoked to go to a meditation retreat with monks for 3 days, hopefully I'm serene and filled with the positive energy when I complete it. on the way to enlightenment, me, yup.

I would like to end this entry by saying hello to anyone who I don't know who might read this and thanks to the person who left me the previously quoted message, it made me realise that I do tend to relay the negative things when there are so so many great things happening all the time and I am truly lucky and fortunate to be doing what I'm doing right now so I should act like it more often!

alright, knackered
much love
Alexis

Advertisement



26th February 2007

chang mai
hey! if your still up in chai mai, you need to do the elephant,hike and waterfall think, and Bamboo rafting! this is jus so cool! you think it just to expensive (well look around a guest hours or too... i think that we may have paid like 700-800 bath for the day... but it is just great ! the bambo rafting just kick as!! we did a 1 day tours.. and there is 3 day tours.. but whatever there is also cooking class that were kinda fun... but i guess i would have enjoyed way more, if i wasnt busy trowing up and been even more sick for half of the day over there!! hoo and last thing, i dont know where you are in the town.. but you need to go the market! thing thing are actually cheaper ( have you been to the week end market yet in bangkok!? YOU HAVE TO GO AND SHOP OVER THERE before you re on way home... really cheap... hoo one last thing....like dont even think about taking one day trip to the golden triangle... it is just so shitty! like 10 hours of mini van, 2-3 stop and a visist of a little island in laos where a monkey try to attack my friend! but yah i guess i need to share my stuff with you! have a good time on the buddist retreat..... i am gonna go to an intense 10 day one in montreal someday.. since i havent had the time to in thailand!! :( bye have a good day!
26th February 2007

Crotch shots of an Aussie. Now THAT would be a funny blog.
26th February 2007

Fooy
Just so you know, I love your little anticdotal stories. Also I just found the wicked awesome postcard you sent us! It was sitting right on the board and i just kept passing it by! Hope your having a smashing time and I'm so very jealous of you.
28th February 2007

Need Definition
Accuntuate? That's an interesting word...
1st March 2007

bah!
not everyone is an English masters student like you! *raspberry*
1st March 2007

Accuntuate
It wasn't just a spelling mistake, if that's what you're getting at: the word was super offensive, and I'm not just going to sit back and hold back a loud "INAPPROPRIATE!"

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb