Our Last Full Day & the Farewell Party


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
January 24th 2018
Published: January 30th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Today was our last full day in Thailand and now after the farewell party I am feeling all sorts of sentiment! To think back to our arrival at the airport and our first few days in Thailand, it wasn’t that long ago yet we have done so many things in between and gotten to know the Thai people around us well. It crazy to wrap my head around, even though Debbie tried to warn us! This morning my stomach hurt a bit, yet not enough to stop me from enjoying what I’m sure is our last breakfast with buddy donuts and glaze! Those things are seriously good and I am glad we didn’t learn how to make them, they are dangerous! My plate, half with delicious buddy donuts and the other half greens, carrots, and cucumber made an interesting picture to send home. Last night at the bazaar I bought a pair of the traditional pants all the Thai young people are wearing, extra wide legs and top that wraps and ties. Most of our Thai buddies wear them and are swimming in them, they are so large! I bought a dark purple pair and, with a little help from Brielle, wore them for our morning excursions. They are surprisingly very comfortable yet not very breathable. We went to the market we went to with our buddies the first day to find our Thai traditional outfits with Ajan Debbie, Ajan Greg, and some of the BCNC staff. Since the beginning, I have been looking to buy some Thai fabric to add to my sewing stash back home and this proved the best spot to do so. I found multiple shops selling thousands of options of fabric in all different styles and all very good prices. I realized I could go crazy there if I brought a suitcase just for fabric! We picked out our choices and it took a while for someone to come over to help us. The shop was very crowded with buyers and Thai people all pointing an making purchases in large quantities. For the amount of fabric and handcrafted goods, you can see where the vendors need to buy a lot of fabric to make them. The staff also helped us find cooking supplies the are unique to Thai kitchens such as a fancy cutter for green papaya and fruits, Thai tea strainers, and Thai tea itself! I stocked up on my favorites and Mary and I already have plans to make some Thai tea when we return to our apartment on Messiah campus. The time was fun and exciting, how I love visiting the markets and sigh seeing, people watching, and finding unique things. I love how each time; the experience could be very different.
This afternoon, we learned how to make Thai tea with Maew and a group went to the market for kitchen supplies. I stayed back to rest and journal, as I already got supplies. We dressed and prepared for the Farwell party, our last big thing on our schedule other than departing. Us Messiah students chose to dress fancy and many of our Thai buddies wore colorful outfits and fun accessories. We arrived to Green Lake and were greeted by our buddies. We were brought to a beautiful outdoor area with fancy tables, a big stage with the perfect quote “Friendship isn’t about being inseparable but about being separated and knowing nothing will change.” How cute and encouraging is that! Many photos were taken and I encouraged all the BCNC and MC students to get one big group pictures. I’ve noticed lots of cliques and picture groups but it’s fun when we can be in one together. As always, there were two student Thai buddies as MCs and I was thankful Meji wasn’t one of them , so he could sit with me and we could spend that time together! The buffet was delicious and abundant with lots of our Thai favorites and a few new ones. We noticed the food was pretty spicy and the guys serving our drinks had to keep up, we were finishing our glasses with no abandon. Both MC and BCNC students gave speeches, sang and performed dances, and each had a slideshow video of pictures and memories. Those videos always get me and make me sentimental and emotional. The power of memories are so strong and I loved being able to laugh and reflect together on our trip. The formalities of speeches, presentations of gifts, and the honoring was next and I was overwhelmed and overjoyed by the stories and gifts given to us. Not only the hospitality but the love we were given again and again was abundant. To reflect on the length of the BCNC & MC exchange program was great and I feel special to be a part of this experience. We got to hear stories of the last ten years and the relationships formed. I can hardly imagine the closeness we feel to the Thai people being here for 3 weeks let alone 3 years every year for ten years! We closed the nighty out with karaoke and sing along with the Thai buddies and MC students. The staff left as it was too cold, a balmy 60 degrees Fahrenheit. We sang and danced and I felt myself wanting to enjoy and remember every moment. As we left Green Lake, Meji wanted me to open up his gift for me. Up to this point, he had brought me food as gift and never anything material. I love food and his apt for picking out snacks was great, yet I wished I was like other Messiah students who received hair pins and pretty or cute things at times. I opened the gift to find a beautiful scarf, cute bag with woodland creatures that says “always better together” and a few other things. The most notable, though, was a frame I opened to discover a digitally drawn replica of a picture of my fiancé and I from the day of our engagement. I had posted it on Facebook and Meji liked it even before we met in person. I expected the frame to hold a picture of Meji and I, as there are many, but it was a picture he drew himself of someone I love. It was the sweetest thing and I was so surprised! He said congratulations as I opened it and I realized what it was. The intention and meaning behind this gift was insurmountable and was so happy.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0648s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb