Relaxation Day: Coffee, Thai Massage, and Night Bazaar


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
January 23rd 2018
Published: January 30th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Woke up today feeling refreshed, positive, and ready for another day in Thailand! My “me time” last night seemed to prove successful. This morning we went to the Maliwan Coffee shop a few places down from BCNC and this was beautiful place! It was everything that my heart craved, coffee and delicious drinks and tons of hanging plants and pots everywhere on their porch. A good sized group of us ventured out together and the owner was so happy to see us and ask us questions about ourselves. I guess she doesn’t get a 8+ American young women in her shop every day! It was a little retreat for me and so much fun. I ended up going back an hour later as Mary lost a ring and went to search for it there. The shop owner say us looking and came to help us. Her shop was empty but still she came to help and give her time, she was so sweet! We found she had her shop open for only a year and was new job she started on her own. We commended her on her beautiful job and conversed with her. These natural, intentional conversations with a stranger seem few and far between in the US, as no one wants to slow down to get to know someone they won’t benefit from. Yet here, these conversations with strangers come up easily and occur especially if a Thai person speaks English. If they know English, many Thai people seem bold in asking us questions and their curiosity comes out.
After lunch, we were treated to another Thai massage at Donkaew Community Hospital and this was amazing as before. We arrived and Greg came with us, helping us get everything sorted in Thai. This time, a few people with major sunburn decided to only get a foot and head massage to avoid their painful shoulders. This made the massage people confused, yet it was all figured out. I realized then that we have gotten really good in talking through non-verbals and communicating without language. It has taken the three weeks here to perfect this! This massage I received was more painful yet I feel more effective after. The woman I had focused more on my shoulders and neck, which I really need, and laughed went my knots in my back rolled. It is so interesting how we so quickly let a total stranger get so close to us! She was literally kneeling on the backs of legs to get my back and at other times wrapped in my legs. Touch in the Thai culture is a lot less of a big deal, as I have discussed previously, but it still intrigues me. If a massage therapist in the US did this, I might react differently I think! The oils and natural smells have such a calming effect and I left there needing a nap, I always return exhausted. This evening, our buddies class was rescheduled so they could join us at the Night Bazar for a last day of shopping together. We rode in the big blue bus, a personal favorite for me as I love watching everyone dance, sing, and laugh together crammed into the bench seats. Ajan Debbie joined us on this trip and it was so fun to watch her in the midst of it. My buddy and I hung out more with Emily and Libby and their buddies, going at a fast pace and stopping to look a souvenirs. This was probably one of my favorite markets, though it was expensive, as there is just so much to look at and see here. Even two feet is a different experience and there is always something new to explore. I found more souvenirs for my family and a wooden puzzle for my fiancé. The vendor showed me all the amazing wooden puzzles and options and was so friendly. I was receptive to it, as I was planning on buying one and Meji and I had a great time! We ended our night a McDonalds for some very expensive French fries and ice cream before heading back to the bus. All the buddies seem to love us and really care for us, I can’t imagine leaving them yet. I noticed many other Messiah students scheming on how to treat our buddies, sneak buying them food or little gifts they are looking at. The Thai buddies often refuse for us to treat them or buy them things, yet give us so much. Going into the night Meji gave me more food and snacks right after my full belly from dinner; I am amazed at his generosity. Thankfully I was able to treat him tonight to a few things and he was so thankful and happy. The ride back was loud and full of American and Thai songs and I was so happy to be there.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0594s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb