getting lost in a small world


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai » San Kamphaeng
December 19th 2010
Published: December 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

time for another update...........
right so since I spoke to you last we've been hanging out about in Chiangmai riding bikes and seeing lots of Buddhist monks wandering around...and drinking more beer and eating the most amazing food I've ever tasted- I am in love with thai food!!! so much so I'm going to do a cookery course so I can eat this way when I'm back home!!!
the night after our last post we walked into town thinking we were being clever taking a shortcut and got completely lost......and didn't have my trusty map either.....so we ended up wandering around for well over an hour all the time we were saying 'I totally recognise this place - the main street is just round this corner' nope still not....just round this one....nope aaaahhhhh totally lost!!!! we stumbled on a bar so stopped for a beer in a bar called Pat's place (and Rachel if you're reading- pat actually reminded me of pat!!!! amazing!!!!) before we screamed, checked google maps just as I tried to figure out where we were the battery on my iPhone died.....lost again!!!!! 
so off we went thinking we were definately heading in the right direction..... definately the right way....walked for half an hour IN THE wRONG DIRECTION!!!!! it was now 10pm and we were getting fed up so we resorted to street food and went to tesco (yip tesco in Thailand!!!) to but paper plates and chopsticks and ate our tea at the side of the canal al fresco!!!!! I made absolutely the right choice if food and enjoyed every mouthful Lee however didn't get the best deal so ate the rice!!!! our al fresco dining this evening cost us a whole 70 baht- plates and chopsticks included!!!!!!! that's £1.20 bluddy bargain!!!! 
after eating we thought we'd try our luck with trying to find where we trying to get too so we headed back the way we came - then after walking for what felt like an eternity we could see the lights, and the bars, and 'the beer signs- we made it!!!! we went to What Bar "Chiangmai's best Indy bar" and my god that first beer tasted good!!!! after sitting for a while another british couple came in and straight away the lad asked us "where you 2 in India 3 weeks ago?" we'd only walked past each other in the street (if you can call it that- more like dirt track) in Varanasi!!(actually at a point when we were again lost) what a small world!!!! so we shared stories on India and drank lots of Chang with our new friends then noticed the bar was actually closing - time to get going then!!!! what a random night we just had............we'll be sure to carry our map next time!! So the next day was an absolute write-off and after lees hangover from hell in Bangkok I got mine in Chiangmai....I was ILL.....the only activity for that day was a sloooooow walk to my favourite hangover remedy maccy d's and a very quick walk back to get into bed!!!! 

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0293s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb