First day


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Saraburi
September 5th 2008
Published: September 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Dear daddy,
Thank you for calling!!! It meant sooooooooo much to me.......

I arrived at grandma and grandpa yesterday at about 4 p.m. Thai time. We took a taxi from the airport which cost 2,000 baht. (60 baht for £1) People are driving in the same side of the road as in England. The journey from the airport was not too great. It was just too hot and the taxi driver was blah-ing all the way. We drove pass a lot of weird looking buildings and there were a lot of motorbikes everywhere. Couple of times I was amazed seeing 4 people on those tiny little vehicles.

It took about 1 and a half hour to get to my grandpa and grandma’s house. They were so surprised seeing mommy and I. Grandma ran from the house to the gate to give mommy a hug and rubbing me. Some doggies were jumping up and down around mommy. I was a bit scared. One of them has a big fluffy brown hair with funny face with ridiculously small ears; mommy told me later he is called Tong Poon. I found he was cute but unfriendly.

Grandma and grandpa’s house is quite big. It looks quite old and again looking unfamiliar to me. It was made of wood with wooden furniture everywhere. I have noticed that grandma and grandpa must love eating so much as there were 3 dining tables and 3 kitchens in the house; one near the gate, one in the house and the outdoor one near the garden. There is a pond underneath the staircase, grandpas show me some goldfish he has just bought, and they were so cute...a lot cuter than those ones in your house. There were also some kinds of 2 little fountains in the pond. They have a big garden...with 3 palm trees. I cannot wait till you get here and we can play footie together.
People here don't speak English. I don't understand what they say but mommy told me I will learn the language very quickly and will forget the English. I don't want to forget English. How can I talk to you if I don't speak English any more? And I love speaking to you. Hoi...now I miss our talkie time. ...I am sad again.

Later on, mommy took me to the market to get some fruit. We had 3 mangoes (those look different from the mangoes we had back in England), the whole bunch of banana, 4 young coconuts and some vegetables. I get so excited to have those mangoes; they look so yellow and juicy. I think me the same, like mangoes like uncle Teddy Bear.

Today is my officially first day in Thailand...It's a busy boring day. I prefer to be lazy in your house with you and mommy all day.

My beddie time now. I miss our talkie time. How can you manage to go to sleep without our monkey cuddle?

I have to go to bed now. I miss you, daddy!


Advertisement



8th September 2008

Sawasdee
That's hello is Thai - your first Thai word I hope. Don't worry about having to learn both languages, I am in exactly the same situation and my brain is already full...you'll have much more space for it all. Plus, Mommy is a great example as her English is excellent - if you're interested in jobs, you could look into being a translater...probably a bit early though :) I've contacted Arsenal and made enquiries about setting you up into their team, I also called Crystal Palace but this is just back up. Right beddy time, even responsible adults (Mommy that means me!) have to sleep. Will speak to you soon Pla Tong - look after your Mommy!

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb