Fun in the Flood


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Pattaya
October 11th 2009
Published: October 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

You know I was thinking to myself, what I am going to do to fill my evening, I had just come out of a movie and I was feeling kind of bored and in the mood to try something new. As I mounted my mighty steed (rented yamaha moped) I noticed some puddles on the floor of the parkade, I drove out and noticed more puddles, strange it wasn't raining much earlier. I pulled out on to the main road and took the next left and suddely I was under a foot and half of water, it was dirty and everyone was driving though it.

I wasn't too concerned about the water, though i did feel bad for some of the flooded businesses. I soon turned off on a side street which proved to be worse. I was up to the headlights and holding my backpack above my head. At this point I began to wonder when my moped and I were going to switch roles between driver and vehicle, about ten feet later the wave form a passing truck caused her to stall, and thus me to push. Not to far in the distance was a dentist office with a raised sidewalk I picked up my moped and carried it with one arm all the while flexing my quads before setting it at an elevated dry parking spot. I made small talk with some creepy Russian, and wondered if he knew how to do a spinning pile driver (if you get this joke and are a female who is not in my family tree through blood or marriage we should make babies). Back to my story, when in a situation like this I called up my years or world experience and did what Jesus would do, I walked to the nearest open air restaurant put my feet up (it was flooded) and had a beer or 3. I lolled at the passers by and helped a few people pull their mopeds up on the sidewalk.

One can only watch a situation for so long before taking action, I walked up to my nemesis, red black and stubborn this mother fucker was going to start one way or another. I pressed the start button.you may have won the battle moped but the war will be mine!.......I pressed the ignition and twisted the throttle-curses foiled again......did some other pointless shit............tried kick starting-something got kicked...............had others try-others failed. Though defeated I picked my self up and began my soggy hike for a garage after about half a kilometer I found a dirty hole in the wall moped shop, it was still flooded but they were working like crazy. I walked back picked up my bike and pushed er over.


The shop was nice no one spoke english, so none of them were trying to bullshit me. After an hour they pulled my spark plug draining a liter of water(I'm so proud), and tried my filter. 5 Dollars later I was on my way, on dry streets I might add things had finally drained.


until later



Advertisement



Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0834s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb