The Moped Diaries


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Ko Chang
September 27th 2006
Published: October 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Friends,

I decided to spend my last days in Thailand on the tropical island of Koh Chang in Trat province. I was sad to leave the muay thai gym as the trainers became very dear friends of mine and I was really enjoying the exercise. After leaving the muay thai, I found myself having withdrawals and even caught myself trying to “knee” luggage carts at the Bangkok airport! Haha!

I chose Koh Chang because it offers more of a “jungle experience” that I have been anxious to have in Asia. This was my second trip to South Asia and I had still not experienced any remote wilderness areas.

The night I arrived, the island experienced an extremely violent storm that flooded shops and homes, washed out roads, and forced hundreds to evacuate. Apparently, I had walked right into the effects of a typhoon that was blowing its way to Vietnam!

The next morning I found a sweet moped and began my journeys. I had never operated a motor bike before and it proved to be a very comical experience. Within a minute of my departure, I lost a flip flop while trying to avoid crashing into another vehicle. A police officer graciously returned my flip flop back after I pulled over…and I was like “dang dude" Seth. It took a few times of running off the road, but before the end of the day...I was laying tracks like Nascar’s Dick Trickle. I spent a full day cruising down the coastline, surveying storm damage, and touring a fishing village built completely on stilts over it’s bay waters.

I also spent a day at an elephant camp where I fed, swam with, and trekked through the jungle on elephants. The swim was exceptional and the trek was a unique way to get into the heart of the lush island jungle. I want a pet elephant.

The one thing I will cherish the most about Thailand is the people. Thai people overwhelm you with kindness, seek to please, and are welcoming on all occasions. They have an uplifting attitude that is always presented with a smile. Family and relationships are cherished long before the pursuit of success and material possessions. Aside from the violence of muay thai, Thai’s are peaceful in nature and “wouldn’t hurt a fly” as my buddy Jerry writes. I feel so blessed to have been hosted by such wonderful people in such a beautiful place!

Next stop…..Christchurch, New Zealand. Miss you all!

Food For Thought:

"Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness, that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, and fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small doesn't serve the world. There's nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won't feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We are born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It's not just in some of us, it's in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others." - Written by Marianne Williamson, Quoted by Nelson Mandela



Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Koh Chang FloodsKoh Chang Floods
Koh Chang Floods

This might take awhile.
Muay Thai Ceremonial DanceMuay Thai Ceremonial Dance
Muay Thai Ceremonial Dance

Each fight begins with a lengthy ceremonial dance performed by both opponents.
Tonsai "Treehouse" RestaurantTonsai "Treehouse" Restaurant
Tonsai "Treehouse" Restaurant

This is also where I stayed on Koh Chang.
Koh Chang FriendsKoh Chang Friends
Koh Chang Friends

I met a Swiss couple, Peter and Vesna, that were great company.


4th October 2006

Dang dude
Seeing all those Muay Thai fighters made me remember all those muay thai fights we had at the mow house. Remember, I was soooo scared of you then. Other than that memory, I don't really remember much about you except your AOL screen name (Billdawg12). If you could try and jog my memory that would be helpful.
6th October 2006

glad you had fun
billy, so glad you enjoyed yourself in thailand. now can you see why i love the place so much??? i will be there soon!!!! i'm thinking november... dude you swam with elephants!!!!!!!!!! how much more adventerous could you possibly be??????? it really made me feel good to see your photos and see how much fun you were having.... hope your trip continues to go well... thai people are truly salt of the earth beatiful people and the girls are o.k. too.... yahoooo
10th October 2006

Hello Lovely
Hey, So pleased your having an incredible time...I just wanna jump on a plane and come visit you..especially if the elephants are still around haha!!! Ive currently finished working for my charity the event raised £4 million which was fantastic..let me know what the rest of your plans our as id love to meet up in south America. Love Always Row x
11th October 2006

miss you
Hi Beze! I miss you!Hope you are safe! It looks really amazing. How are you? Yia ya really misses you! ( trust me she can't get over it!) We were at Grey and Chase's b-day party, and right before the party yia ya starts crying and saying " I just want Billy to be here! I miss him so much!" Laura is babysitting me right now! And obviously doing GREAT at it! I miss you so much! We are about to e-mail Don and see how Gustopher is doing! I love you! Mary cat
11th October 2006

Saw Shado boxer at the gym yesterday! Maybe you could show him some of your new thai moves :) Glad to hear you are enjoying NZ. The whole time I was down there it made me think of you. I can't wait to hear about your glacier experience! Send me your new NZ number or give me a call when you get a chance. Love, Elizabeth
12th October 2006

Kick boxing, eh?
I will have to remember to hit you from behind... Carter,Puss, Murdoch, Dad and I are headed out for Saskatchewan tomorrow. Temps in the -10's Celsius (teens) are forecasted for the entire trip as well as much snow. Pretty much the opposite of what you are up to. I have never been anywhere I had to endure 15 degree weather for days on end. Should be quite an eye opener. I look forward to seeing all of our friends in Canada and they have been planning parties and such for us. It gets mighty lonely out there on the prairies this time of year and the few residents really look forward to our coming up just as much as we look forward to making the trip. We will cover 2000 miles by truck in the next 3 days which will take us through Knoxvegas, St. Louis, Iowa, SoDak, NoDak, Montana, and finally into Saskatchewan. One of these days I am going to keep on trucking and check Alaska out... Get Chile scouted out for me and we will all return for a flyfishing adventure in a few years. That is some country I am dying to see. Keep the blogs up and I will check you out in a few weeks. When you get back, come on up to Dos Rios and tell us all about it... JAB
24th October 2006

MUAY THAI
is there any thaiboxing camp in koh chang, i'm going there in december and it could be fun to know! Are the thaiboxing fights on the pictures in koh chang?
25th October 2006

Muay Thai in Ko Chang
Linus, Almost sure there is no Muay Thai camp or fight stadiums on Ko Chang. As you will see, it is a fairly remote island. The fight pictures are from a match I went to in Patong, Phuket Province. The camp I attended was Tiger Muay Thai in Chalong, Phuket Province. Hope this helps.

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0689s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb