Rocks, Sunsets, and Coups


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Railay
September 20th 2006
Published: September 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

My Good Friends,

Most of you will be happy to know that I am safe, and that I am not being affected by the Thai military ousting Prime Minister Thaksin Shinawatra in a coup and imposing martial law in Thailand. Apparently this is usually a peaceful process and has happened 18 times since World War II. As you can imagine, democracy is far from mastered in this country. When the Thais don’t like the political structure, they have a coup, oust the PM, and put a new one in place. This happens time after time. The military presence seems to only be in the major cities such as Bangkok and Chang Mai and life here in Phuket continues as normal. There are no tanks, troops, or violence.

With that said, after some tough muay thai training, I recently traveled to Ko Phi Phi Island and Railay for 5 days of rock climbing and snorkeling. Ko Phi Phi offers world renowned diving and is a beautiful tropical island sitting in a clear blue bay below large cliffs. During the 2004 tsunami, the island suffered incredible destruction and it was pleasing to see that although reconstruction was still in process, much
Me on a climb at RaileyMe on a climb at RaileyMe on a climb at Railey

Notice the incredible colors of the limestone rock!
of the island had been restored. It was difficult for me to imagine that people just like me were here enjoying this remarkable island, when chaos unveiled itself, destroying homes, businesses, boats, and human life. In a matter of minutes, this serene tropical paradise was transferred to a hellacious nightmare.

While in Ko Phi Phi, I took two snorkeling trips that were magnificent. I was able to view fish of brilliant coloration, fluttering aquatic vegetation, and mysterious rock and coral formations. After my dives, I found myself in awe of how intricate and finely detailed even marine life is.

After a short stay on Ko Phi Phi, I traveled to the peninsula of Railay, which is part of the Krabi province in southern Thailand. Railay is absolutely stunning, and is also world renowned, but for its rock climbing. The narrow peninsula, is surrounded by sheer limestone cliffs with massive overhangs and stalactite formations that drip pleasantly onto the beaches and climbers hundreds of feet below. The rocks are not only on the island, but in the ocean as well. There they appear as if these large blocks fell out of the sky and stuck lengthwise into the ocean bottom, and as if they could topple over at any minute.

I rock climbed and explored caves at Railay for three days and had many adventurous routes, which were sometimes a combination of climbing, spelunking, and rappelling. The views from atop climbs were jaw dropping and the caves were magnificent. I also hired a Thai guide who challenged me to lead some difficult climbs and sharpen my skills.

After each day of climbing, I would usually hobble, scrapped and battered, to the white sand beaches and watch incredible sunsets. These sunsets were the most beautiful views that I have ever witnessed, and my pictures only capture a slight amount of their glory.

Now it’s back to Chalong for some more painful doses of muay thai!

I hope this journal has found you all well and I thank-you for all the emails, comments, and encouragement! God’s Peace.



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Cave FormationsCave Formations
Cave Formations

"Golden Stone" - a quartz waterfall in Diamond Cave on Railay


21st September 2006

Yo buddy
Hey man, looks like all is going well. I am extremely jealous. Have fun while in Thailand, and eat some real Pad thai. By the way, did you lose all your shirts there? Peace, Chris.
21st September 2006

I am so jealous!! Those places look amazing!! Can't wait to hear more.
21st September 2006

Surviving the Coup
I am glad to hear that you are safe and having a good time. It seems that the rock climbing is more dangerous than any political vioelence. The pictures are awesome.
21st September 2006

Can I be a beneficiary?
Billdog12@aol.com. I was wondering if I could be a beneficiary on your life insurance policy. That rock climbing looks dangerous. Please come back safely because I want to watch you and Kellan fight in a cage match. I will go rent the fences and bleechers and we can have everyone come watch. I will charge $7 a person, and give the winner 50% and the loser 25% then I will keep the rest. You can break Kellan’s banana split in half!!! Please also send more close ups with your shirt off. Next blog would be nice to talk more like your self. Throw in a "Dang Dude", a "Sweet", or a "Skateboarding is not a crime" into the blog.
21st September 2006

Your in paradise,even if there is a small revolution
Hey Billy don't worry about the political scene I'm sure you know by now that the Thais are friendly peace loving people ( exept when they get into the ring) and there wont be any blood in the streets.. keep enjoying paradise, you are in what may very well be the most beatiful region on this world that God gave us.... keep in touch bro
21st September 2006

You lucky %^*)!
21st September 2006

Awesome
Dear Billy, The photos are great. Sounds like you are havinga wonderful time. Blessings and prayers are with you. Susalee
22nd September 2006

Clarification
Is that 50% before your fence and bleacher expenses are paid...or after?
22nd September 2006

Do you know who this is now??? I must say reading Seth's comment really miss visiting you at UT :) I support seth's plan excpet I add that we play In Da Club and the Ingnition song while you are climbing!!! Thanks for calling this AM. Even if it was the day after my bday!
22nd September 2006

Seth and Chris Simon
I'm in Thailand....not Knoxville...not Charleston, it's blazing hot, i'm on the beach, and i only brought 3 shirts (Thurmond style).
22nd September 2006

So you're a political scientist now?
Prime Minister Thaksin Shinawatra ? I'm impressed that you've been able to maintain your political curiosity while still finding the time to engage in activites like rock-climbing and shirt-removing. I'll never forgot about that comparative study you published last year on the Tyler and Fillmore administrations. How you were able to link their policies on proetctive tariffs, I'll never truly understand. Forgive my digression. I look forward to your return so we can discuss politics like always. -Whelan
25th September 2006

Those pictures are amazing. I know you are having a great time. Relish it while you can, you know how fun the real world is. I don't see any bruises in your pictures though. Maybe your combat coach shouldn't take it so easy on you. Take care - look forward to hearing from you again.
25th September 2006

Wow, Billy Incredible does not describe what you are experiencing! Treasure everyday at least for me!~ sally
28th September 2006

only you
you're the only person i know who would be randomly visiting thailand and hanging off the side of a mountain. i'm envious. you're making my wood paneled office (with no window) look less and less appealing. nonetheless, i think the absolute world of you (Cruisa, too). :) Will you be near Africa in October by any chance? Take care of yourself.

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0769s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb