Over too soon!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Ko Chang
October 24th 2012
Published: October 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Disabled access, Thai styleDisabled access, Thai styleDisabled access, Thai style

I don't think they understood the concept of wheelchair access too well!
Soon it is time for my long journey home. One thing I have learnt is that my ipad speaks a totally different type of English to me so for this last blog I am not going to correct any of the changes it makes or the suggestions it gives me! Here goes...

On the plane to Thailand I had a few little worries, mainly, what if I got lost, what if I cannot find where I am staying? Being alone made that feeling bigger as I knew I would have noone to ask but I surprised myself... Not once was I lost; perhaps misplaced a few times, but that was it! That was my biggest worry sorted.

What if I got bored with myself? That didn't happen either - I had anticipated feeling a bit alone, or lonely - that didn't happen either!

So overall, a good trip and it certainly has boosted my confidence a bit.

HIGHLIGHTS

Elephants! Without a doubt, being able to bathe with one, wash her, feed her and being shown around her patch of jungle was an amazing experience. I was smiling like a nut-job all day, and still smiling when
Careful! Poipet warning Careful! Poipet warning Careful! Poipet warning

And some people do not understand a notice such as this? On the Thai - Cambodian border. Going in to Thailand at Poipet.
I recall how it felt.

The floating village, without a doubt. I have wanted to see this for so long after seeing it on a TV Documentary - it was well worth the effort to get there and see it first hand. It is far more impressive than watching it on a screen - to see the children playing, and waving at the odd white woman - amazing isn't quite the right word!

The bridge over the River Kwai... this was not a bit how I imagined it. I have read of the destruction many times, seen it portrayed on TV, in films and documentaries but to actually see it, stand on it and take time to wonder... It was much smaller than I had imagined, but that, in a way makes it more horrific, thinking about what happened there. I recall being told, a very long time ago that my Granddad (Taylor) was in the war office in London and was there when final decisions were taken - I'm not sure now just what that means, but I am going to try to find out (Helen... do you know??).

Seeing the ruins of Ankgor Wat was
Our amazing worldOur amazing worldOur amazing world

Having seen these pictured on TV and on websites I wondered if they were as big as they seemed, or as impressive as I thought they may be; they are huge and enormously impressive and to stand there and touch it is amazing. It makes me wonder about other things, other places... Truly amazing.
pretty amazing too, the recent history, Pol Pot, the millions who were killed, by palm tree leaves, seems too incredible for words!

Travelling alone has given me time to relax and enjoy time, just enjoy being... I hadn't anticipated how that would feel - just being... again, amazing!

So, in 2 hours, I will be on the first leg of my journey home. Taxi to the ferry, then the ferry, bus to Bangkok Airport, plane to Muscat, plane to Heathrow, underground train to St Pancras, train to Sheffield, then Lee's Taxi to my house 😊 Perfect!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

The bridge over the river KwaiThe bridge over the river Kwai
The bridge over the river Kwai

Although the bridge is small compared to how I imagined it, to stand there and wonder what it mAy hAe been like for the prisoner's of war to build that and to remove all the stones, hillsides etc ideal, it is unimaginable - there is no way I could imagine how they managed or felt.
dinner on the River Kwaidinner on the River Kwai
dinner on the River Kwai

More a beer really, had a bit of food. scenery was stunning
Tone SapTone Sap
Tone Sap

One of the highlights of my trip was visiting the floAting village at Tonle Sap. Seeing the children was amazing and something I won't forget - mollycoddling parents in the UK would probably benefit from a visit here to see what Children are capable of, instead of filling their Heads (And life) with tv wrapped in cotton wool!
DinnerDinner
Dinner

A last coffee on the beach before heading home (ok, ok, it might have been beer!)
One eyed dogOne eyed dog
One eyed dog

This dog, fully dressed, has only one eye and is so cute! Can be found at Island Lodge, Koh Chang!


25th October 2012

Your amazing journey.........
And that's not just the miles you've covered! I've so enjoyed your blogs and am going to miss them ?. Hope by now you are home safe and sound......although, second thoughts, not quite sure if its today or tomorrow. But SO glad you had such a fantastic time and coped so well. Xxxhugsxxx
25th October 2012

Your amazing journey.........
And that's not just the miles you've covered! I've so enjoyed your blogs and am going to miss them ?. Hope by now you are home safe and sound......although, second thoughts, not quite sure if its today or tomorrow. But SO glad you had such a fantastic time and coped so well. Xxxhugsxxx

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 54; dbt: 0.1229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb