Anticipation of the African Adventure!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » South Yorkshire » Sheffield
April 20th 2014
Published: April 20th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Foggy, dismal and pretty depressing in Sheffield at this time of year, when the sun doesn't shine! But all is OK as I am going to AFRICA within a week.

I AM GOING ON HOLIDAY BY MYSELF, ALONE, WITH NO-ONE GOING WITH ME! I will hopefully meet up with like minded travellers.

I am all inoculated up - everything is up to date; typhoid, tetanus, polio, all the hepatitis, diphtheria, polio, didn't need yellow fever, and my malaria tablets start on Wednesday!

I have 3 initial challenges


• 1st how much I can get in to my smallest rucksack; this is because I get notoriously bored waiting for baggage at any airport so always try to fly light!
• 2nd is accepting my small rucksack is not big enough!
• 3rd packing; I normally do this around 40 minutes prior to setting off and is annoying to other people! essentially it is 100ml of vodka, clean undies and a camera



People who know me well will know what a challenge this holiday will be, and I mention it before every holiday because people are still not aware of this condition.
I have CRPS type II which causes agonizing pain all the time, since 1996; I cannot escape it and many years ago I decided to get going again - if I am in horrendous pain I may as well be doing something with my life instead of sitting and not doing anything, and still being in horrendous pain!! It causes more symptoms but I won't bore you! I take controlled drugs for the pain and I am going to leave them at home as I am always terrified of being found with morphine sulphate and being chucked in the nick; seriously!! So I know the pain will increase but am hoping I can manage it reasonably well.

Zimbabwe is my first port of call - I fly from Manchester to Charles De Gaulle in Paris, then to Johannesburg and on to Zimbabwe, Victoria Falls!

This is the start of my trip; a camping safari; I am a bit worried about the physical side of it because of the CRPS II but - why stay at home wanting to do it when I can actually give it a go?

I am travelling through Zimbabwe, Botswana and ending up in my friend Sallie's house in South Africa which will be fantastic! We haven't seen each other for around 8 years I think.

I am visiting the Victoria Falls - one of the highlights, I am camping out with the lions, elephants and goodness knows what in the Okavango Delta for 3 days/2 nights, doing a night safari and spending a day, hopefully with elephants, which I love (as long as I know they are being well looked after - see my last holiday blog about the drugged tigers, disgraceful!!) and I am taking a flight over the Okavango Delta - seen it so many time on television so want to do it - despite my reservations about flying!

I am going to Chobe national park and camping on the Chobe riverside; and a sailing on a Mokoro to get to some isolated Botswana tribal villages. Then it is on to Maun and Botswana's capital, Gabarone.

Then in to South Africa, seeing the northern Drakensberg Mountains, Kruger Park and on to Johannesburg.

Followed by - flight to Durban, drive to the Drakensberg Mountains (different area) for a 2nd visit, back to Durban, back to J'burg, the Paris, Manchester and back to grotty Sheffield!

There, super planning wouldn't you say? If you know me and fancy an adventure next year then give me a shout because it would be lovely to have someone to travel with!

Advertisement



25th April 2014

Woah
its gonna be really cool to hear about all your adventures!!! YOU CAN DO IT!!!

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0592s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb