Sawadie from Khao San Road


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
October 25th 2006
Published: October 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Khoa San Road at NightKhoa San Road at NightKhoa San Road at Night

Thais like their neon. Kinda looks like the city Kemi, Tippie and I built for our music video.
After a mere 14 and a half hour flight from Vancouver via Hong Kong to Bangkok, I find myself here on Khao San Road - falang backpacker mecca- where it all begins. I arrived in Bangkok in the AM and so had plenty of time to secure lodgings and get my barings (which included drinking a Singha beer at a cafe- of course). Then I crashed for about 5 hours, sleeping through my alarm which made me late for my rendez-vous with Craig. Now there's a blast from the past. For those of you who are not in the know, ex-boyfriend who's now living the high life in Bangkok(complete with cute Thai gf by the name of Apple- of the Golden Delicious variety is my guess). Those of you who know Craig and remember the good old days of our courtship - stop rolling your eyes! Yes, that means you- Dawn and Holly. He's the same Craig but I think I've mellowed a bit and we didn't agrue once (although I did question a few things but I did so in a very non-confrontational way - yes, I am capable of this!). It was a very unexpected evening that turned into a late night of drinking, dancing and of course eating at (illegal) after hour street vendors. I was hoping for an early night, but my circadium rhythm is so out of wack anyway it didn't affect me that much. The highlight of the evening was running into an old pilot friend of Craig's. Jeff randomly flew into Bangkok from Myanmar that night and he just left an hour ago for Hong Kong and will be back in Bangkok on the weekend. Ah, the hectic but glamorous life of a Cathay Pacific pilot. He's an awesome guy that talks to everyone and has been everywhere. He might go trekking in Nepal in a few months and I may tag along if I'm still around. He also gave some really good pointers about getting out of the tourist areas of Bangkok, and that is what I'll be doing next. Well, that's my first 24 hours in Bangkok.

End transmission.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.032s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0151s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb