In Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
October 1st 2006
Published: October 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

airport arrivalairport arrivalairport arrival

after 15 hours of travel
I landed in Bangkok yesterday. The bangkok airport is one of the biggest in the world! As soon as we walked out of the front entrance it was crowded, okay, crowded isn't the correct word. The taxi's and people advertising for hotels are behind a rope to let the newly arrived passengers movement out of the building. I kind of felt like I was on the red hollywood carpet with people waving and shouting at us to get our attention. Quite the greeting! Once past the ropes we were swarmed and it was difficult to walk but our friends who arrived in Bangkok were there to gather us and had a cab waiting. I started to walk across the street and my Thai savvy friend pulled me back and said never just walk out into the street. The cars will not stop for you in thailand. I was also told to be careful walking on the sidewalk because they ride motorcycles down them and as a pedestrian you are to get the hell out of the way.

It is also quite humid and muggy here and apparently it is considered a nice cool day in thai standards. Our hotel rooms
sharing a beer towersharing a beer towersharing a beer tower

sharing a beer tower on ko san road
are air conditioned (but still really humid?).It is a nice hotel and we are paying less than 20 dollars usd a night for one room each. I have already been down kao san road which reminds me of a carnival. I have also noticed the wild dogs that aren't really all that scary because it is too hot for them to do anything but lie around. So far I have seen one on most street corners, people just walk around them.

So I am off to catch a water taxi and do some shopping. I will upload pictures later.

Oh ya the phad thai......amazing.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb