Bangkok (26 Aug 14 - 8 Sep 14)


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
September 8th 2014
Published: September 8th 2014
Edit Blog Post

And after a brief stay in the Phuket, it was a short domestic flight** to the familiar capital, where I plonked myself for almost two weeks, catching up with a couple of friends, attending a few trade exhibitions, and just generally reliving some of the good memories I've had from the place the past two years or so, when it's been my home away from home on the road. And even though I'm not attending any Thai language classes during my relatively short stay this time, it isn't difficult to re-enter a certain routine amid the familiar environs. And it's difficult also not to be a little reminiscent about the not-that-distant past when I embarked on my first extended stay here early on in my now two-year plus adventure, especially knowing that I'm almost certainly closer to the end now than the beginning...

Stayed at Hotel California (I can check out anytime I like, but...)

**I've starred the domestic flight as an aside to relate my experience with Orient Thai Airways -- do reconsider the temptation to save a couple of bucks taking this airline! I'd bought the ticket naively without first checking reviews of the airline, even though
Khao SanKhao SanKhao San

Still alive and kicking, as usual.
I'd no prior knowledge of it, simply because it was the cheapest. It turned out to have a bit of a spotty safety record! And quite unbelievably, they brought forward my flight by forty minutes without informing me! Fortunately I'd arranged to arrive at Phuket airport early, just in case of bad traffic due to possible flooding during the rainy season. I only found out at check-in of the early departure time! Otherwise it would likely have been an unexpected mad scramble for me. Think twice about Orient Thai!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0655s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb