Yesterday


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
May 15th 2014
Published: May 15th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hello dear readers, well I thought I would update you on my day yesterday - not that exciting lol



I recall leaving my last blog advising that there were other travellers here. I did meet them very briefly, two guys and a girl all from the USA they had been travelling since December and were just heading off to their next destination.



So I have been the only traveller here. It's a nice hostel, modern and clean. It has wifi some English speaking programmes on the TV, breakfast is included, lockers for small items e.g passport etc, and I have had my washing done! There a many restaurants and street food vendors around so i won't go hungry lol. There is also a 7/11 & post office, beauty parlour and massage place near by and or course a strip joint lol. The area seems very safe and the hostel is located on a busy main road. There are bus stops near by and there is a free bus service to the sky train. It's a nice place for some chill down time but not for location of the shops tourist attractions and the khao san road etc.

Yesterday I needed to visit the Stray pass office on the other side of the city to where I'm located so big girl pants on I hailed a taxi. I consulted with Nalin who is the owner of the hostel. She is a lovely Thai lady who owns and runs the hostel. I would say she is in her 30s and also runs the little coffee shop at the front of the hostel. She speaks very good English and has been very helpful during my stay

I hailed down one taxi who didn't want to take me, neither did the second but third time lucky I got one that would take me to my destination. So we headed into the traffic, I have to say it was an average ok normal taxi ride, and made a nice change lol. There was heavy traffic on the roads though so it did take some time to,get across town. However as we got nearer to the stray pass office all the roads were closed and the taxi could go any further. So he stopped the cab and spoke to a moped taxi driver - they wear blue or orange bibs. So I paid the taxi driver and hopped on the back of the scooter and we headed to the stray pass office. Pretty good fu actually lol.

So I sorted out the stray pass stuff and then wandered around the local area. Turns out I had found back packer Central and the Khoa San road! So I stopped for lunch at the greenhouse cafe and hostel, pad Thai and a banana split lol.

After lunch I had a wander round bought some toothpaste and malaria tablets from boots. i tried to get a taxi back to the hostel but there was a traffic jam so I went gone back to the green house bar and watched Elizabeth Town with Orlando Bloom. I've seen it before quite a nice quirky film. Hopefully the traffic will have calmed down by the time it's finished.

Tried to get a taxi again after the film but still no luck as the traffic jam continued. So I went for another walk to a different bit of the area and the got a taxi. He charged me 400 Bart which was a bit more than I wanted to pay but I just wanted to get back here so agreed. The traffic was horrendous as there had been a demonstration in there local area so lots of roads were closed off so traffic chaos ensued. I was a bit worried (as in usually do) that impound be whisked off in to white slavery lol. I'm a bit paranoid about that lol.



So I got back safe and sound and relieved to see the hostel.



What will happen tomorrow .............



Xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0775s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb