The Wait


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
August 24th 2006
Published: September 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

BangkokBangkokBangkok

the crazy Khao San Road
Back to the sights and sounds of Khao San Road. The sights consist of the Thai women dressed in tribal attire walking around with their wooden frogs, the thousands of Pad Thai stalls, and the numerous colorful stalls that yell out for you to buy buy buyyyyyyyy. The distinct sound of Khao San Road is a conglomeration of pop music from the music stalls, the icecream truck, the 'just have a look, ma'am', and the consistent ring of the 7 eleven bell.
My third visit to this other dimension has proved my favorite. Through my travels, I must have made a long list of acquaintances, because it seems as though I bump into different old friends daily. My first day was spent with Kristel - a Canadian girl I met on the bus. We went mega shopping...she was buying gifts for all her friends, and I liked the push into this shopping dimension. Even more...I enjoyed the airconditioned, ensuite room we decided to splurge on! Day 2, once Kristel was already on a plane flying across the Pacific Ocean, I bumped into Antoine, half of the 'two french guys' who I met in Taman Negara on the RAT INFESTATION night. We spent a few days sharing a room, trying to get some communication going through our unfortunate language barrier.
Day 2 evening I bumped into Maggie and Brian, the Canadian couple from the Perenthians. The next day we decided to go to a ping pong show. This turned out to be a MISTAKE. I didn't enjoy the show at all, the girls in the show were definitely NOT enjoying themselves, and the crowd seemed oblivious to their lack of enthusiasm. Although it has to be said - the show was unlike any I had seen before.
After the show, we attempted to find a club for some dancing, but since the energy on Khao San Road seems to die off at 1AM, we ended up in Chris's luxury room (A danish guy who had known the Canadians from a dive store he worked in at Turtle Bay Divers). On the way however, coming out of 7 eleven, I bumped into Wolfgang - an Austrian I met on the train from Malaysia to the Full Moon Party. Night of Samsung.
The next day Antoine left to go toward the ancient city of Ayuthaya. I went on a mission to find a gym. I found one!! A brand new gym in the hotel where Chris had stayed - and I signed up for a week of fitness! On the way - who did I bump into but Nat - a friend of mine from the Tenteleni Project in South Africa three years ago. She had seen me and chased me down the street. That was her last night in Thailand, and so we ended up in Gullivers for some good old dancing!
The next day I spent the entire day at the MBK shopping centre. This is where my epic shopping began. I bought A LOT, and loved it. Dangerous...warning bells going off everywhere. That evening I bumped into Wolfgang again, and we ended up chatting and walking around Khao San Road all evening.
We decided it would be cheaper to share a room, so the next day I moved into his room right on Khao San Road itself. We spent the day at the MBK centre, went to the cinema (' You, Me, and Dupree' is much better than expected). The day was fantastic, I don't think I ever stopped laughing. We were like little kids, joking and running around the shopping centre. Shopping wise the day was a bit lacking (except Wolfgang bought a second hand flash for his camera back home)...but company wise it couldn't be beat.
After going to the gym, I bumped into Wolfgang who had met a friend who he had travelled with in Malaysia. I ended up going back to the room and falling asleep...only to be woken up by HUNGER. Went to eat some spice stall food, and went back to the room to read.
The next day Wolfgang had to leave on a 8:30 AM bus to Cambodia. I ended up spending the day walking around - and deciding to have a suit made at a tailor store (jacket + two trousers). Hope it turns out well!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

BangkokBangkok
Bangkok

Wolfgang + I


Tot: 0.296s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.2125s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb