In Bangkok: Trying to Go to Vietnam


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
April 13th 2014
Published: April 13th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Once again, I entered Thailand from India with the intent of going to Vietnam. We stopped over in Thailand because it is a natural jumping off point to get a visa to Vietnam. Vietnam is one of just a handful of countries that still require a US citizen to get a Visa.

Ashlee was not feeling well so I brought her to the hospital in Bangkok. They admitted her for 4 days and put her on an IV drip for a Kidney infection. So we ended up spending more time in Bangkok than we thought, but the doctor has ok'd our travel to Vietnam.

We need to rush to Vietnam before someone else gets sick or ends up in the hospital. Last time I tried to go to Vietnam, my father fell ill and passed away a month later. So I ended up going to California to spend his final 4 weeks with him.

One year later, here I am with Ashlee trying to go to Vietnam. She got out of the hospital in one piece, so things went much better than last year. The good news (in addition to her return to health) … because of the delay in Bangkok, we got to see my sister Kathleen and her beau Chris. They were in Thailand for Horton's wedding. We also got to see the New Year’s Festival in Thailand—Songhran: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Songkran_(Thailand)

Ashlee wants to get a Tattoo while we are in Vietnam. She wants to have this conversation. Friend: “I like your Tat.” Ashlee: “I got that back when I was in Nam.”

Our plane takes off in an hour.


Additional photos below
Photos: 49, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0175s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb