Cruise down the Chao Praya river.


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 10th 2013
Published: December 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I got my hair cut and straightened this morning as curly hair doesn't work here. It just doesn't exist and I feel like an English sheep baking in the hot sun. I was able to understand the amount of money the hairdresser asked me for - 200 baht, about 4 pounds. I also navigated my way through the Bangkok sky train alone and I found my way to and from Susan's house at either end. I met four other tourists (a french couple and a moroccan couple who only spoke french) at Silom Taksim stop where the boat tours leave from. The five of us shared a boat which made it very cheap and we all got on well. The cruise took 1 hour and took us down the Chao Praya river (very quickly). The boat stopped at a temple, we got off and took photos for 20 minutes. We slowly went past many people's houses, mostly made of wood and all on stilts. We saw local people doing everyday things, kids playing and a crocodile. We carried on upstream to see the famous tall buildings in Bangkok. After the boat tour I bought some lunch from one of the street vendors. I tried fried fish on a stick, some yellow fruit and then for dessert I had fried bananas, all made fresh there and then. I have no idea what the yellow fruit was but I'll make it my mission to find out. I eat lots of different fruit here but I have no idea what it is. It is delicious! There is no more news on the political situation but today was a public holiday (Constitution Day) and out of respect for the king the protests were called off. However, tomorrow the people of Bangkok will start again in their ploy to bring down the Taksim government.

PS There are a few really good photos still on camera of this day, must print when I get back


Additional photos below
Photos: 40, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.272s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 4; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0766s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb