My first taste of Japanese food!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 11th 2013
Published: December 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

In the morning I walked around Benjasiri Park. It is a smallish park and commemorates the 60thbirthday of Queen Sirikit, her majesty the queen of King Rama IX

In the afternoon I ate my first ever Japanese meal in the Japanese area of Bangkok, in Ekamai. I ate in a restaurant in the shopping centre. The shopping centre was nicely decorated in a Japanese style, air-conditioned and very confusing Japanese toilets with 15 buttons on, one of them being a seat warmer. I bought a book on Thai cooking and an origami beginner set which I can do when I’m on public transport.

I ordered mixed sashimi salad, stir-fried bean curd accompanied by miso soup, rice and a mug of green tea.

When the meal arrived I had no idea what was what, how to eat it, what utensils to use and how to use chopsticks properly. It took me nearly two hours to eat the meal but I persisted as it was strange but very nice. It was terribly confusing and to make matters worse the first thing I ate was wasabi on its own (which comes from horseradish sauce and should be mixed into salad.) At least it cleared my sinuses.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0316s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb