Bangkok - Day 1


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
October 23rd 2013
Published: October 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

After leaving Heathrow (UK) at 8.30pm Monday, I arrived in Bangkok at midnight Tuesday/Wednesday. It was an arduous journey, seriously testing the mental breaking point. I was suffering from 'man flu' which I developed before leaving the UK. Due to suffering acute Labrynthitis (inner ear inflammation) several years ago, when knackered i find concentration hard. This is not helpful when you plan to read and watch movies for 24 hour, i ruled out sleep as i tend to struggle on planes, although i do have the knack of falling asleep whilst landing. How annoying!

Anyway, I flew Air China landing into Beijing. I am not sure whether it was a particular hazy day or it was the smog that i could see, regardless it was very murky. I did ponder how i would get through 6 hours in the airport without wireless. I then realised that the internet was working i just couldn't get logged into Facebook. My understanding is that it is blocked in China and they have a different form of social media. A further flight with Air China saw me arriving at Bangkok about 5 hours later. Before departing Heathrow i had lunch in Chinatown with one of my best buddies Paul Kultschar. I forgot i was flying Air China, i still remained hopeful in an attempt to vary the diet that Indian may be served as an alternative (I do like Chinese i may add). Funnily enough!, the choice was chicken with rice or noodles with pork. I have to ask, does the latter sound none Chinese?. Anyway, i went for the latter which when presented to me had Spaghetti Bolognese written on the foil, and sure enough, that is what i got. Remembering a story of the late Burt Ford travelling to see Gillian Phillips in Tasmania many years ago, i avoided the seafood lunch on the next leg of the flight and had ............ chicken and rice!

I got to the hotel at about 1.30am and despite it being late the staff were friendly. I booked a 5 star hotel so i could relax a little after the long flight. It cost me £30 a night inclusive of breakfast. I was hungry after arriving so i popped to the little supermarket, got a special fried rice, water and washing powder for clothes and had to fork out about £1.50.

Woke up early after little sleep and found myself playing internet poker with 5 others from the Falkland Islands. This was short and sweet as it was not going to get in the way of the 'free' breakfast. I have to say that today has been one of the best days of culinary delights that i have witnessed. Breakfast fascinated me, the usual boiled eggs, poached eggs, omelettes, sausages and roast potatoes! Then an Asian selection of chickpea curries (my favourite), chicken and rice, stir fried vegetables, noodles. There was a gorgeous selection of fruits (Melon, watermelon, pineapple), salads galore, cereals, waffles and french toast with maple syrup, cakes (for Chileans - Miguel ha ha). This could all be taken with extra peanuts, soy sauce, fish sauce and chillies.

After a 5 course meal i went back to the room and relaxed for an hour before taking to the outdoor swimming pool. I was very impressed with my 8 lengths today! It was wonderful just relaxing reading my book, having the occasional dip. This came to an end when i realised i had put my valuables in my room safe, but had left the door wide open!

I took a wander through the mall before lunch looking at all the clothing, vast amounts of jewellery (careful lads) and tourist items. I wasn't that adventurous regarding lunch so went to the food court. I did like this food court though as all the ingredients were on display and the food cooked up in front of you. I went for the pad Thai which cost about 70p although i went large and had prawns to push the boat out to £1. It was very good.

I have been bit slack today and slept for most of the afternoon.

By evening i was feeling a bit more adventurous and bought my first 'get in with the locals' Thai shirt. Actually i cant wait to wear this to the next Malvina Thai night Matt! I really enjoyed the night walk up the straights. The action and hassle from the tuk tuk drivers, the vehicles i have to say made New York look quiet. There was all sorts of odd fruits that i need to go to a market and study further. Whilst i didn't try the street food tonight it did look magnificent. I may have been tempted if i managed to see a cockroach on a stick. In the end i went to a little Thai place in a dark alley, for food i might add! I ordered a a large Chang beer and a Thai chicken green curry. I tend to make a lot of green curries at home, this was magnificent. The colour comes from the fresh Thai basil and green chillies and there was lots of beautiful aubergine in there. The freshness from the lemon grass and particularly the lime leaves was fantastic. I thought this place would be good. I did use the first rule of 'food club', see if the locals are eating there. I left after forking out £5 for the curry and rice and the beer.

End of a quiet but delightful day

Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb