Bartering in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
August 5th 2006
Published: August 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My first night-train experience from Surat Thani to Bangkok wasn't too bad. After a catch-up breakfast with Stacy who'd already been there a few days, we hit Khao San Rd for some bartering practice.

The next few days were a mix of shopping, relaxing, eating and drinking! The only items on my to-do list for 4 days were to sort out my visa for Vietnam, and buy a ticket for the night train to Chiang Mai. I have to admit I didn't seek out the cultural side of Bangkok too much but I'm saving it all for when I come back in September to meet Mum. The highlight of my few days has to be the Chatuchak weekend market - literally thousands of stalls, nearly all worth a look if you have the energy. After an hour or 2 we were fading fast but a 30 minute foot massage sorted us right out! As usual, I had to fight the temptation to buy lots as I know I'll be back later on in my travels. The mixed fruit shake I had there has yet to be beaten - strawberry, dragon fruit, melon and water melon blended up with lots of ice - yum.

Overall, Bangkok was a pleasant surprise. I had expected an overwhelmingly busy and smoggy urban sprawl but I rather liked it! Had I flown straight there from the UK, I might have had a different impression though. Next stop Chiang Mai...



Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0675s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb