My 5 Day Adventure in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 25th 2013
Published: April 5th 2013
Edit Blog Post

My Bangkok adventure started in summer of 2013 and I am pretty sure it wouldn't be my last. Living in Sydney all my life, it is nice to have a change of environment in a place that is very different from what I used to know. Asian and Western countries are not similar--like black and white. The cultures as well as the traditions of people in Bangkok is very interesting, ancient and diverse. It is amazing how they can keep their traditions yet still thrive to be one of the world's best tourist attractions because of their contemporary lifestyle and state of the art hotels. I would like to share with you my 5 day Bangkok adventure that really renewed and refreshed me.
Day One
I won't miss the must-visit list and tourist attractions in the city, so I head off to the Grand Palace. The palace houses temples like Wat Phra Krew, which is a small place of the Emerald Buddha. It has a number of historic museums that are very well preserved and admired by both tourists and the locales.
Here, I did some meditation and spend some quiet time. I am refreshed and ready to face the cruel back again and… to shop! There are many malls here like the MBK and you can also visit the Erawan Shrine, which is a Hindu shrine representing Lord Brahma with heavy Thai influence. Here, you can find restaurants offering street foods and I did have a heavy food trip in the afternoon. I had a few sips of beer and watch the Siam Niramit and Thai boxing nearby.
Day Two Of course, I have to experience Bangkok Nat-Geo style, so I walked into the floating market and get to know the locale sellers there. I even rented a bike to go around checking out orchards , shrines and canals. After a day of biking, I ended with a relaxing massage. Wat Pho is where I had the best massage of my life. Then, I relaxed at the temple and even dropped a coin or two for good luck.
Day Three
I decide to visit Bangkok's National Museum and other museums around it. I did find the Jim Thompson house simply amazing. He is , by the way, very popular for his silk business and you can find the history of Thailand silk in his place. I spend the day visiting local stores and buying products. After all those walking, I decided to retire in the comfort of my five-star hotel and enjoyed coffee with the view of the riverside.Day Four Of course, I have to get a picture with the elephants, so I did. I also visit Erawan Museum and saw the 3-headed elephant icon. The Samphan Elephant zoo is great for a Safari adventure and it has some of the biggest crocodile I've seen in my entire life. Before nighttime, I dropped by city canals and have a feel of Venice, Asian-style. If you want to shop for cool, affordable finds, better go to Patpong/Silom night market for incredibly cheap gadgets.
Day Five
My Bangkok adventure ends with… shopping! I went to the Dusit Zoo and spent some time with the monkeys, deer and other lovely animals. I know that they needed that because it can get lonely sometimes, you know. I also went to visit Chinatown and have the best seafood feast ever! If you miss home, just go to the Westin Grande Sukhumvit. With its party people, live music, and just pure fun- you won't have a time to miss home a single bit!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0308s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb