Update Time!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
July 1st 2006
Published: July 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Calypso CabaretCalypso CabaretCalypso Cabaret

Yup, they're all dudes.
Hey!

It's been nearly (another) 10 days in Bangkok, and I've just been too lazy as of late to update my blog with anything worthwhile... told you not to expect much! The majority of the time in BKK has been spent doing insane amounts of shopping with my sister before she left to head home, so needless to say I'm nearing the point where I need to get back out of this city for a while.

A couple days after Lisa took off, I literally bumped into Raylene and her Aunty, who had just gotten back into Bangkok themselves from Koh Phi Phi. They were kind enough to pick up an extra ticket for me to a Lady-boy show they had planned to see that evening. So, I tagged along, a tad nervous about the whole idea, but I have to admit that it was a cool experience. It was a cabaret-style song'n'dance show in which the performers were all lady-boys. I'll attach a picture and you can decide for yourselves. There's a huge difference between the 'professional' lady-boys in these shows and the ones that try to accost you on the streets at night!

Anyways, in the spirit of getting out of the madness of Bangkok for a while, both Raylene and I booked a bus ticket to Siam Reap (Cambodia) to see Angkor Wat for a few days. Unfortunately, it's going to be a short visit, as Raylene has to been on the train to Rasi Salai (from BKK) on the 7th, and I'm expected to arrive in Tha Ton (a tiny town in the Chiang Mai province, ont he Thai / Burma border) between the 7th and 10th for a 10+ day meditation retreat at Wat Tha Ton. I'll drop a little more info about that when I have a bit longer on the computer. Should be a kick ass experience, though.

But that's really all the news from me. It's too easy to fall into a lazy routine of spending money and doing a whole lot of nothing in Bangkok, so it'll be great to get on the road again. Plus, Angkor Wat has always been on my 'to see' list, so I'm pumped about that!

I'll update again with pictures from Siam Reap and Angkor Wat in a few days, so check back.


Easy!


-Mark


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

My dear 'ol sis!My dear 'ol sis!
My dear 'ol sis!

Lisa at the Wild Orchid.. we decided to go on a Beer Chang binge that night and it handily kick both our asses. Haha, oh the memories (or lack thereof!).


Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 59; dbt: 0.075s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb