Day 4


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
April 4th 2012
Published: April 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

BuddhasBuddhasBuddhas

In Ayutthaya Temple
Hello all!

Well as you can probably tell, I arrived in Bangkok safely. I got my taxi back to the hostel on Monday (having had to wait 45 minutes for it due to traffic) and pretty much fell asleep straight away. Which meant I woke up at 3 am and watched BBC world news for several hours but I guess that's how it goes sometimes.

On Tuesday I got up and had breakfast at the hostel before going to the Bus Terminal and catching a bus to Ayuthaya (about 86km away, 1.5 hour bus journey and cost me about 1.10 pounds). There I found a guesthouse which looked pretty nice and got a room for about 6 pounds. The main disadvantage was that there was no air con so I had another pretty rough night's sleep.

In the afternoon of that day, I took a boat tour around the river/canal that runs around the city that was formerly Thailand's capital. I saw some beautiful temples and an absolutely HUGE buddha! I also met a Dutch guy who was travelling alone as well so I had a dinner (and a few Chang beers) companion.

Today, I awoke early
Ayuthaya HostelAyuthaya HostelAyuthaya Hostel

Tony's Place
again, due to lack of air con, took a nice cold shower and had a fruit salad and pineapple juice for breakfast. I then went for a quick shop (and got some Prickly Heat powder for you Chloe- that'll be 70p). After that I got the bus back to Bangkok and a taxi to Baipai Thai Cookery School.

The School was taught in English and we made Massaman curry, spring rolls, a pomelo salad (kind of like a big grapefruit that isn't sour at all) and stir fry chicken with holy basil leaves. Everything was delicious and I am thoroughly full up now. The staff were so friendly and helpful and I really can't recommend the place highly enough. It was brilliant.

Just back at the hostel now and hoping to upload some photos.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

HUGE BUDDHAHUGE BUDDHA
HUGE BUDDHA

Ayuthaya
Cooking!Cooking!
Cooking!

Baipai
My saladMy salad
My salad

Baipai


Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0285s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb