Day 1 & 2: Travel London – Bangkok (Sat/Sun)


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 7th 2012
Published: January 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

P1030834P1030834P1030834

the octopus soup!
Finally NO SLEEPS to go!! Excitement central! Up at 6am I made my way to the tube to head into Heathrow Airport. No dramas – amazing! The flight was running 1 hour late from the get go but it was ok cos ended up just meaning 1 hour less stopover in Colombo. Got super excited prematurely as I thought I had 2 seats to myself and so would def get some sleep but no! All was good though, had a lovely old guy sitting next to me telling me of his once yearly trips to India and all of his adventures! Have to say he still hasn’t inspired me to travel there though! Watched a movie and then got about 5 hours sleep which I was stoked about. The flight was 10 hours and then we had a 4.5 hour stopover at Colombo, Sri Lanka. Slept some more, bought expensive coffee, getting confused with all the diff times I had (London on ph, Bangkok on watch and the actual Colombo time) I sprinted down to the gate at one point, thought the plane had gone but was wrong gate and when I reached the right gate realised actually the time that
P1030828P1030828P1030828

our hotel
I had looked at on the computer I was on facebook on) was an hour fast!! So I then had another hour to sit at the gate! Guess better early than late for a change, gave me a bit of exercise aaand woke me up a little!

Boarded the plane to Bangkok getting super excited cos destination was that bit closer and that meant seeing mum was too! Only a 3.5 hour flight there. Had a particularly grumpy asian lady next to me who didn’t appreciate it when I tried to step over her, slipped and landed on her as she was covered entirely by her blanket – face and all! But time flew and I finally reached Bangkok! Changed into summer clothes, revealing my amazing pastyness – thanks London, waited in mega long queues, and managed to get a very cheap taxi to our hotel! He was driving 130km/h the entire way but I got there in one piece and for cheap! Bonus! Checked in and walked into our room and surprised mum cos I was early! So so so so sooooo good to see her! Has been about 9 months so it was well overdue!!

Had
P1030829P1030829P1030829

the man who is everywhere!! we assumed he was king
a lil catch up and then headed out to get lunch! We stumbled across a cute lil place called The Secret Garden. They had amazing looking desserts but we refrained ourselves and ordered a Thai dish each. Cashew chicken – very nice but spicy! Well for us J. We were outside and had raining leaves on us but was a cute place. Good first meal. We then headed back and sorted out checking in for our flight tomorrow, and a few things we wanted to do in Chiang Mai. By this stage it was about 5pm and we didn’t have much of the day left and hadn’t really seen any of Bangkok (next time!) so we headed out in search of the night markets. We found them, and ALOT of posters and banners and billboards with the same man which we have decided is The King, for no reason other than the sheer quantity the times we saw his face! Well to us he is....and always will be! We found the markets thanks to a lovely austrayan! And they were pretty much as we expected. Mum was looking for a watch, and me some Ray Ban fakes. We saw some interesting transvestites which had to be expected, and a whole lot of the same things over and over! I saw a fake Havaianas stand and was just looking at them all with no intention of buying any and all of a sudden I was being harassed and she was flying diff jandals at me left right and centre and pushing them into my hands and telling me prices and before i knew it i had bought some jandals for about 6 pounds. Cheap but I didn’t even want any! So with jandals in my hand and me telling myself I was gonna be stronger and say NO, i saw some potential Ray Bans but I wasn’t 100% sure about them cos they were a bit dark. Asked how much for them just curiously and well it was all over after that! It didn’t matter how many times I said no! And my school teachers used to teach me “No means No!” Clearly they have different schooling over here! She would not let me go, telling me buying the glasses meant I was putting food on the table for her kids! Good lord! And then almost just to shut her up
P1030832P1030832P1030832

our gross dinner!
I took them and left briskly with new sunnies for 10 pounds! Mum couldn’t find the perfect watch so we headed out looking for dinner. I saw some patches with flags of all different countries and decided to get one for every country I have been to and will continue collecting them while im travelling! Best purchase of the day – happy! We found a restaurant that sold all sorts of asian food with great pictures on the menu – selling point for me! We got a few starters and shared a main. The fresh spring rolls were hideous and tasted minty with some sort of weird thing in them so we flagged them, other spring rolls nice, and wow who knows what our main was. We ordered chicken, veges and crispy wontons. It turned up in a soup, no chicken, drowned wontons, and OCTOPUS!!! Mum – so proud of her – ate a big octopus legs, tenticles and all! GO MUM! I ate its head. Not good and we left feeling particularly hungry still. However, Haagan Daas icecream did the trick afterwards!

We then headed back to the hotel and had an early night as I was exhausted! Good day in Bangkok but I am looking forward to going back on the way home at the end of the year and seeing the sight, doing a river cruise and seeing the floating markets. There just wasn’t enough time this time!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.226s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1859s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb