I wouldn't mind retiring here


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
June 20th 2006
Published: June 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Thailands History is Short and SweetThailands History is Short and SweetThailands History is Short and Sweet

Actually, in its 600 years of history, not much really happened in Thailand. Maybe I am oversimplifying it, but after visiting the museums and all the temples, it seems that they basically just live peacefully on their own most of the time. They will go into war once in a while with Cambodia but that seems to be about it.
Bangkok to me is a city of many cultures. English works well here... so does Chinese... so does Thai I guess if you speak it.... I hear Korean and Japanese too. Its truly a city that accomodates for everyone. I have absolutely zero trouble getting around by myself. The subway system is pretty clear and people are friendly and will always help you out if you have questions.
Our tourguide told us that if we want, we can probably easily buy a condo or two in Bangkok, rent it out for a small profit and just live off the rent. You know what, that really doesnt sound like such a bad idea to me. Some people say that Thailand gets real hot, but actually, by the end of the trip, I don't really feel it anymore. Things feel fine to me actually :-)



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

TemplesTemples
Temples

When in Bangkok, I am sure you too will visit these same temples... and yup, they look just like they do in these pictures. The architecture is uniquely Thai!
White Man DistrictWhite Man District
White Man District

Close to downtown Bangkok is a district where lots of backpackers hang out... forgot what its called but just look for this signature starbucks!


20th June 2006

Peaceful Thailand?
There is no country that can just lives peacefully on its own and survive, especially if that country is on a fertile land in the middle of Southeast Asia surrounded by Burma, Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam, Malaya and where the great powers of Great Britain, France, USA, Japan and China meet. It has been a very difficult task for us Thais to safeguard our country and independence throughout 700-year history.
26th June 2006

Ignorance...
Thanks for correcting me K. Pipat... I am glad you pitched in. But when I visited the national museum, it is very packaged, and mention little of Thailands current struggle. I guess as an outsider, I am also rather ignorant of the hardship that all many countries such as thailand have to endure. But yes, I am sure there is a hard and tough side, probably to every place in this world (in fact, one of our taxi drivers told us that their parents work at making chopsticks and literally makes like dollars a day). Thanks for commenting!

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb