Daily life in KPS


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 1st 2011
Published: December 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

29.11.11

Here we go. Meeting with Dr. Foyfa and Dr. Kumut in the Soil Sciences building at the KU Campus KPS. Short introduction and outline of the planned cooperation project. Their expertise lies in mapping and remote sensing. Might be very useful to merge with them. Next meeting will be on Dec. 6th, my birthday. Then also Dr. Axel will attend😊

Sports! After I received a new bike (I call it the pink lady) that took me home safely, I decided to do some exercise. (I finally managed the jetlag and felt the need for movement). The Campus is very well endowed. Running, tennis, rowing, basketball, football, golf, swimming and are only some of the many possibilities to make you sweat. I followed the exercise path and crossed the golf course, then finally ended up playing basketball with some Thai and US fellows.. Great match which we unfortunately lost…eheh



30.11.11

Another working day. Tight schedule for the next week. I will spend six days in BKK. International Conference in Plaza Athenee on “Nutrition-sensitive food production systems for food security, then several other meetings. Great opportunity to do the socializing for my project. All the regional players concerning food and agriculture issues, as well as political issues will be present.

Furthermore the King’s birthday is on the fifth, the Thai nation’s most important holiday. Robert recommended to spend that day in Krung Thep (Thai for Bangkok: “City of angels”) because of the Royal Barge Procession on the Chao Praya. This is a ceremony which has been taking place for nearly 700 years. The King goes down the Chao Praya in the Royal Barge, accompanied by 51 historical other barges.

My this year’s birthday will be very busy. In the early morning trip from BKK to KPS, a couple of meetings and later back to BKK to be ready for attending the Forum on Dec. 7th and 8th. Anyway looking forward to it..

In the evening dinner with Khin, one of the participants of AVRDC’s current training course and Steve. Khin introduced me to his future mother in law as he tells me smiling. She has already agreed on the wedding of Khin and her daughter. I only doubt because Khin doesn’t even her daughter so far… After a very spicy Pad Thai I enjoyed some traditional Thai ice cream. Delicious! 😉

In the gym next to the nightmarket currently a refugee camp for flood victims was established. Some tents are still there, but luckily the major part of people was already able to leave again.

Ouch! Next time I mustn’t forget my mosquito repellent…

Miss the advent calendar...😉

Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0734s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb