The coughing man, lightning storm and a damn good pad thai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
October 5th 2011
Published: October 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone,

Well I made it safe and sound to Bangkok, yay, stage one complete.

I'm pretty impressed with Oman aiways....I was expecting budget facilities but was given hot towels and great films to watch so the 14 hours of travel time went really quickly. I did get politely asked to leave the 1st class lounge, I was desperate for the loo, and thought none would notice me sneaking into the fancy toilets, how hard can it be to pull off being posh? Turns out quite hard, I lasted 7 seconds, I wonder what was in the 1st class toilets? I didnt even get as far as poking my nose inside...... Maybe you wash your hands in champagne and have gold plated toilet paper?

Back in economy I was next to a man who coughed for 5 mins every time he had a drink, and then he seemed to think the best cure for the cough was to drink more water. Let's hope he didnt have any germs. I did get my own back though and drifted over his side when I fell asleep. I believe there may have been some dribbling.

Landing was very hairy. Anyone else ever landed in the middle if a lightning storm before? My friends who work at BA might be able to spout some statistic about the amount of planes hit by lightning....lets just say there were sweaty palms and some Rob Hill style grippng of the chair arms as we landed.

The hotel seems nice, just had a pad thai because I was starving.....oh who am I kidding, I've had 6 dinners in the last 24 hrs and a bag of percy pigs (thanks mum). I am so coming back obese.

Plan for tommorow is to make my way to Koh San road and try to bribe some people to be my friends, I wish I still had my percy pigs, everyone likes them! Will just have to rely on my astounding wit and charm :-)

Wish me luck.
xxxx

Advertisement



7th October 2011

Emily! Sounds like you're having a great time already! Keep us posted! :) xx

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0269s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb