Unexpected Week in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
August 28th 2011
Published: August 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I just finished an unexpected week in Bangkok.

When I tried to check in at the airport in Bangkok to return to India, Jet Airways would not let me board the plane. I had cleared this up with the immigration officials before leaving India, but Jet Airways has their own ideas about how things should be done. They wouldn’t let me board the plane and sent me to the Indian Embassy in Bangkok. So I headed to the Embassy instead of flying to Delhi. It took 4 days to get the reentry pass and a few more days to get on an available flight.

While in Bangkok, I found a room in this clean little Hostile ($25/night) with wireless Internet near the Indian Embassy in Sukhumvit. www.thailandhostel.com Mostly I just worked and waited to hear back from the Indian Embassy. I have been to Bangkok twice before. I also did a few small picture taking excursions.

The Lonely planet suggested the Khlong Toei Market because it was great for pictures and there would be no other tourists there, both true. I took the MRT (subway) down there from Sukhmvit and walked back through Benjakiti Park. You’ll know the Market pictures because it was all about food. The park pictures are the ones with the lake in front of the high-rise buildings.

I also visited the Grand Palace and rode up and down the river on public ferries and visited the old teak palace. They didn’t allow Cameras at the old teak palace, but anything gold and flamboyant in the pictures is probably the Grand Palace.

Off to India ….



Additional photos below
Photos: 45, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb