Watch out Saigon!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
June 2nd 2006
Published: June 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sawadee Khap!

Another picture-free update from yours truly, the lazy-ass wanderer. I know it's been a while since I updated the blog, but I'm back in Bangkok without any spectacular new pictures to post, so bear with me.

So plans have changed slightly since the last entry. Instead of heading down to Koh Tao to do some snorkelling and/or diving, I'm now back in Bangkok and headed to Ho Chi Minh City in Vietnam! Our flight leaves Bangkok on Sunday (June 4th), so all going well, a few days after that I should have some sweet pictures to post.

Booking the flights to Vietnam was a pain in the ass, more specifically the wallet area on the ass. Apparently, for reasons completely unknown to me, flying from BKK to Ho Chi Minh City (aka: Saigon) is exponentially more expensive than flying into Hanoi. Due to time restrictions for my sister, however, we just don't have time to fly into Hanoi and then travel down south to HCMC, so we had to bite down just and pay the price. To put it into perspective: To fly anywhere within Thailand, a ticket is like $10-20 Canadian, TOPS. The cost of a 1 HOUR (yeah, one single hour) flight from Bangkok to Ho Chi Minh City is roughly 11,000 baht, or like $300 Canadian per person for a round trip. Comparatively, that's not a terrible price for a flight (compared to Canada), but keep in mind that it's a 1 HOUR flight. I feel slightly hosed, considering that I've only spent a bit more than that so far to survive for a month (food, lodging, travel, drinks, etc).

Regardless, soon we'll be in Ho Chi Minh, soaking up the different sights and atmosphere and trying to get a handle on a new language. After 4ish days in the city, the plan is to bus over to Nah Trang, basically the beach mecca of Southern Vietnam. With a pleathora of Pagodas, temples, islands, and all things wicked, 2 and a bit weeks in Vietnam should be packed with adventures. It'll also give me a great idea of what to see when I return back into Vietnam less than a month later. Always good to get your feet wet before diving in, eh?

So that's it for now. Besides departing with disgusting sums of money, Bangkok is still Bangkok. Too busy, loud, noisy and stinky to love, but too kick ass to hate. Just the right combination to spend a few days in limbo, hanging out and taking it all in.

Check back in a few days! I promise I'll put up some pictures soon. I told you I was lazy...


Cheers!

-Mark

Advertisement



2nd June 2006

No Title to Speak Of
Interesting change of plans. So what made you decide not to hit up Koh Tao? I'd give nearly anything to be swinging in a hammock, watching the sun set from the balcony of Happy Daze! But to each their own. Enjoy 'Nam, and keep the pics coming! Peace out and party on. --Denis

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0562s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb