Day One In Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 4th 2011
Published: February 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So Day One in Thailand was a little stressful, but yet for me, everything is stressful! Our Qantas flight was delayed an hour and a half, but it was well worth it! The staff went off, I made friends with some Thai flight attendant and he ensured I got my fair share of alcoholic beverages, amazing! Once we arrived, the city was so humid and very warm for 1am! Our driver's car didn’t have a speed o that worked, infact there are hardly any speed signs around this country. I am also very sure the drivers here make up the lanes and ignore all forms of road rules. HAHA, We are staying at the Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit hotel, the breakfast, the beds and the pool are of the best caliber, IRONIC since the actual city is anything but! At 3am we walked about the nearest red light district, young prostitutes with older white men, dogs, children and cripples all sleeping and begging for money... yes, dogs, a little dog was holding a bucket, and the tourist seemed to sympathies with him over the other two :'( broke my heart. The city defiantly smells like a tip, and the juxtapositioning of high sky scrapers and luxury hotels situated amongst under developed houses and un safe construction sites was very hard to take in.
So, I slept for two hours, went to the gym and continued my day, went to MBK and the Siam mall, which were alright, nothing special, and then got a Thai massage. I could blog entirely on the massage, but I won't! I will tell you that my friend, Billie and I couldn’t distinguish the sex of the masseurs, the massue mounted me in ways un imaginable, elbows dug into my shoulders, knees into my lower back, my man breast were groped and I was told "you like! You like! Good for you!!!" at least three times a minute!
At night, we hit Pat-pong, the official red-light district! We ate and drank for less than 30 dollars, but the whole converging currency or attempting to work it out how much so and so baht equals toAUD is a nightmare! We look like authentic tourists! The go-go dancers looked emo to be alive, and we were hassled by so many men yelling "ping-pong, banana"... Again, the stress, we went into a show only to see two people performing actual sexual acts, absolutely vulgar, further more I snapped at the waitress who kept accusing me and my friend Matt of not paying her enough money for our drinks; they really do to try and rip you off! I spat the dummy and threw a tantrum, walked out like a queen only to find out that I was in the wrong because two other friends, Coxi and Billie, had ordered a drink and left due to heir sensitive and very moral natures; they couldn't watch the show!
Finally, the haggling, I used the line "this no leather, I work in a shoe store" so many times, and it worked, until Melissa would intrude and side with the shop keeper, the woman has allot to learn!
Off to bed now!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0212s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb