Can't get enough of Starbucks...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 28th 2005
Published: January 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Wandering the streets
Midday sun is scorching hot
Retreat to Starbucks.

I started my day off by making a quick trip to the Post office to unload about 6 kg of goodies. You'd think my pack would be nice and light...but it is still heavy! Oh well. Not once, not twice but three times in my short time at the post office people thought I was Thai and started to speak to me in Thai. How flattering. 😊

Before I knew it, it was time to go back to the hotel to say goodbye to Becky who was back to Bath, England. She really fell in love with Cambodia and was oh so tempted to call into work and tell them that she would not be coming back. But reality is she will be saving all this year and doing just that next year.

I didn't really have any plans for the rest of the morning so Heidi, Larry and myself wandered over to Khao San Road to get a refreshment at Starbucks. It is surprising how many times I've been to Starbucks the last week...I hardly ever go when I'm back home. Not a good habit to start. lol Larry wanted to pick up a few last minute souvenirs so we walked up and down Khao San a few times bargaining away.

The heat was a bit too much to handle so I decided to take a break from the heat and grabbed something to eat at an air conditioned establishment.

Before I knew it, it was time to meet up with Larry and Claire and head off to the Grand Palace. One of the highlights is the Emerald Buddha. After seeing the huge 45m long reclining Buddha at the Wat Pho it was a bit disappointing to see the tiny 66cm tall Emerald Buddha. Guess it didn't help that it was placed in a huge temple and surrounded by tons of gold. My favourite thing to learn about the Emerald Buddha was that it has three sets of clothes (just like Barbie!) for the hot, rainy and cool seasons. Apparently there is an official ceremony during the change of seasons where the King himself will change the clothes of the Emerald Buddha. No joke.

The grounds of the Grand Palace were just amazing/dazzling/eye catching. Lots of sparkly things and of course all immaculately kept. The surrounding walls were decorated with murals that were pretty detailed and were also a great place to escape the beating sun. Anytime we went into a building or room with a fan, Claire and I found it difficult to move on. And of course being the Grand Palace we had to make sure to not have bare shoulders, bare legs and have closed toe shoes. They have special changing rooms for tourists at the entrance if you are not dressed appropriately. There was quite a line up out there!

In the evening it was time to say goodbye to Heidi who was off to the UK. She'll be starting her two year Working Holiday Visa when she arrives. She's a nurse so it shouldn't be too much of a problem to find a job...just trying to decide where she wants to work!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0323s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb