Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 18th 2010
Published: March 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Well I arrived in Bangkok on friday at 4pm after a pretty good flight Quantas is amazing and just showed again how crap BA is compared to its rivals (or partners in this case).

I was staying on the Khao San road which is described as the backpackers 'Mecca' mostly I think because it appeared in the movie the beach. Its a crazy place and from what I have seen since not very reflective of Thailand. The street is filled with noise from the various street vendors selling pad thai, fruit, beer, your fortune etc... and there are various hotels, hostels and clothes shops ( can't imagine why most travellers would be interested in a tailored suit though) to choose from. I had booked to stay at a hotel called Rikka's Inn which is supposed to be one of the nicer options which basically meant it was clean, I had a fridge and there was a pool on the roof.

The jet lag was a nightmare crashed as soon as I got there and then woke up at midnight so wondered down the street which was quite an eye opener had my first street food and beer eaten by the side of the road whilst the street vendors, lady boys and prostitutes wondered by. The Khao San Road is a 24 hour place and as a result the nightclub below my room was open till 6 and I could not sleep till then therefore my plans for sat were a right off!

I did all the tourist stuff on sunday took a boat trip down the river, went to the Grand Palace which is a truly incredible sight and then in the afternoon saw a crocodile and elephant show. The elephant show in particular was very impressive I didn't realise just how intelligent these animals are some of the tricks they had been trained to do were incredible as you can see from my photos.

I wanted to leave on the monday to go to Koh Tao but could not get a flight and therefore had to stay another day in Bangkok which in the end was pretty nice as chilling by the pool and enjoying the local food is never a chore!

I'm in Koh Tao as I write this currently doing my diving openwater qualification so will add another entry once that has been completed.

Please note this is my first ever blog so please forgive the poor english or if it is just plain boring - maybe the blog master Woody would like to give me some tips?!

Mark


Additional photos below
Photos: 48, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



4th March 2010

Looks pretty good
Hello mate, enjoyable read. Glad you seem to be settling in well to travel mode. As almost all of my blogs are fairly boring and my travel ones were so filled with errors it doesn't really matter what I think. As long as you are having a good time that will come across and is by far the most important thing anyway. Look forward to the next one. PS I do hope that man didn't get eaten by the croc and I love the fact there is a map showing where you've been.

Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0797s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb