Sukhumvit Night Market, Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
August 28th 2009
Published: December 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sukhumvit Night Market, Bangkok, Thailand



I decided to go out for one more Bangkok shopping experience before I headed back to Okinawa, Japan. After doing a bit of online research, it became clear that they place to go at night was Sukhumvit Night Market. I only spent about 2 hours here because the selection wasn't nearly as big as Chatuchak. However, this was much cleaner and people friendly. At the center of the market there were numerous vendors that food and drinks could be ordered from. After looking around the different shops for a bit and before heading home, my travel buddy and I stopped at the cafe area for a quick break.

Because I bought a TON of souvenirs while in Thailand (art, a tea set, clothes) I needed to buy some bags to carry it all back on the airplane. I ended up getting a LoweAlpine Bag for about $10 (in a regular store it would have cost about $90) and a Deuter daypack for about $15 (would have cost about $100 in a regular store). In the process I perfected my bargaining style. I would walk into a store, name 1/3 of whatever their asking price was, haggle for a bit, and then leave to go look for more shops selling the same items. I'd wander on back around eventually to the same spot, the store owner would invite me in, we'd haggle some more, and then I'd leave to go browse the other shops. By the third time I came around, I would know what prices the other storekeepers were offering and would normally get the shopkeeper to give me their lowest price. I kind of felt bad for getting such great deals on these items but then I remembered the items wouldn't have been sold unless the seller was making a profit.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0619s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb