They hang the pigs outside by 35 degrees


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
June 13th 2009
Published: June 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

In Georgetown I found a street with all butchers. One had as speciallity Goatsheads but not on display.
The other butchers had pigs hanging in the frontdoors. Just without any cooling. Wonder who is eating them for it s not a delicacy for Moslims or Budhists and I can hardly believe it s for the Roman Catholics for than they have to eat a lot.

This system with all shops of one kind of business all together in one street is common here. There is also a street with jewelers.

Georgetown is another Unesco world heritage site and the last I visit on this trip. Georgetown on Penang is rather big, 600.000 inhabitants and even the Unesco site in the old city is approx 4 or5 km2 with complete streets in old style european tradinghouses.

The mosque I visited yesterday is called the Kapitan Keling Mosque (headman). It was named of the Indian Muslim Merchant Caudeer Mohudeen.

In Georgetown there are still Thrishaws( like in vietnam the cyclos) but the drivers are so old that I did not want to risk their hearts by touring me around.

My youngest son called me 3 o clock friday
catholic churchcatholic churchcatholic church

old city Georgetown
morning . It looked like the baby was coming. Have to change my plans.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

cathedralcathedral
cathedral

the small georgetown cathedral


Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0244s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb