31.03.2008 New day, new luck?!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
March 31st 2008
Published: June 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

31.03.2008 New day, new luck?!



Since I couldn't leave for the South of Thailand yesterday, I had yet another day to kill. Fortunately Fabian offered to keep me company in the afternoon. We didn't really do much. We just went to Baan Sabai to have a drink and chat for a while before it was time for me to get my luggage and be on my way to the Southern Bus Terminal in the evening.

I felt pretty confident this time, since I already knew my way and what local bus numbers to take. It took me a while to find my VIP bus at the Southern Bus Terminal but all in all it went pretty smooth.

When I got onto the bus I was thrilled by the luxury. I didn't know that VIP really meant extremely comfortable travelling. I only got onto that bus because there simply was no other one to book. I expected to sit somewhere squeezed in with others, trying to get some sleep while being in an upright position - not exactly a strength of mine.

The chairs were as wide as the ones you see on first class on an air plane. The back rest would go pretty low down and a footrest would come up. It was like one of those comfy TV chairs you find in American living rooms.

Before the bus took off they distributed water bottles and snacks. I was pleased and got myself comfortable for the 12 hour journey ahead of me.

I was about to fall asleep when the bus stopped and we were all asked to leave. At first I didn't understand what was going on and someone explained to me that we have dinner now. I checked my watch, it was midnight. I was surprised that this journey even included a proper meal in addition to the snacks. Dinner was nothing special and I could not join in the conversation for there were only Thais on the bus with the exception of one couple with a son.

We got back onto the bus and I soon drifted off to dreamland. What a nice way of travelling 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0205s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb