Off to the Islands!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 30th 2006
Published: January 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It's our last day in Bangkok today (we're getting the night bus to Phuket in about half an hour which takes about 15 hours!!) I'll be sad to leave as this is a great city but also really excited about going down to the islands!

Went to the weekend market on Saturday - it was absolutely huge (apparently there are about 7,000 stalls!) We got the local bus there at about 10 and left at about 4 and think we only covered about a quarter of it! Still can't believe how big it was! Spent about 50 pounds and bought: about 15 t-shirt tops (I couldn't resist!), 2 pairs of jeans, diesel trainers, diesel zip up top, a few strappy tops, about 5 bracelets, 2 skirts, an adidas bag... and thats just from the top of my head, I'm sure I've forgotten loads! So all in all, a very successful shopping trip! Lucky that both me and Patrice are small as they don't seem to go over a size 10 in here as Thai people are pretty petite and they just seem to do one size. Posted loads of stuff home today, so Mum, Dad and Elena, you should receive it between 3 and 6 weeks!!

Then yesterday we went to the posh shopping centre which was massive with about 7 floors but not very exciting as we couldn't bargain there and I also knocked some beauty products off this ladies stall, oops! It was quite embarrassing! Me and Patrice both seem to be doing stupid things recently, think I forgot to write what happened at the airport at Mumbai - we were approaching security and I realised I had my pedometer / personal alarm on my jeans so in the attempt to take it off my jeans and put it into my bag the tag thing that you pull to release the alarm came off and the alarm went off (and you know how loud they are!!). Everyone was laughing and I was so embarrassed - haven't used it since!

Found a really great restaurant yesterday which we didn't go in before because it looked so posh but its actually really cheap. Had a really nice meal and also went there today to fill up our stomachs before the long bus journey!

I've added loads of pics under the blog - Tiger Safari, so just go into the blog and you will see them all there - lots of me and tigers!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb