Last day in Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 24th 2006
Published: January 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello dear ones...

I am back in Bangkok, getting my visa stamped for India, and saying goodbye to Thailand. I was so sad to leave Chiang Mai and my massage school friends and program, which is continuing for another week. There are certain times when a group just bonds strongly due to arriving at the same time needing connections, and the right chemistry. We had that all. Last night I had a farewell dinner with some friends, then got in my tuktuk (motorbike taxi) with a Polish guy going the same way and headed for the bus station. I felt like I was leaving a familiar, beloved place and community. My experience in Bangkok so far has left me cursing it and missing Chiang Mai even more. Everyone here is more curt, jaded, and everything is hard to negotioate due to the hugeness and crowded nature of the city. I took the overnight bus, barely sleeping, arrived here at 6:00 am, but experienced enough this time to know to avoid all the taxi drivers insisting that 400 baht was a great price to town, and found a metered taxi for 90 baht. I was towing much more than I came with as I bought a massage mat and other things in Chiang Mai, so I took the taxi straight to the Atlanta, a place Peggy recommended. Sorry Peg, but it was not a good experience! I lugged my stuff in, and the woman snottily told me the place was full, and to basically go away. Unfortunately its at the end of a small soi (lane) so no taxis come, and at first she wouldn't call one. I stayed an hour trying to get out, then managed to get one, but as soon as I gave him the address of the other guest house I had heard of, he shook his head in disgust and drove away. Two more taxis did the same (I am still boggled as to why) before someone finally took me, but he couldn't figure out the address (behind the 7/11 which are rampant), so he dropped me off at the wrong 7/11! I couldn't walk with the stuff, so I had to get yet another taxi to take me the one block to the right spot (who of course wanted to charge me a full fare! I gave him 10 baht, and got out..).

I
The blind MasseursThe blind MasseursThe blind Masseurs

Torturing another client! (Yes, that's two men on one woman...)
was pleasantly surprised when I entered this guest house called Suk 11, where they were warm and friendly, told me I could leave my extra luggage there for 20 bt a day while in India, and gave me a room. Its a beautiful place designed in the old style of a village, with greenery everywhere. I highly recommend it. Now I have dropped off my passport at the India Embassy, and must pick it up in three hours.

I was actually supposed to fly out to India yesterday, but that is a whole other sob story! In brief, I applied for my India visa in Bangkok, but couldn't get my stamp until yesterday (when I was supposed to fly out). If I had gotten the stamp last week, I would have missed the end of my massage program. There is an embassy in Chiang Mai it turns out, but they were inflexible and wouldn't give me the stamp since I had applied in Bangkok. The next flight was two days later! So, I may miss Jeanne who went up North of Bangalore to an ashram there, and may just stay. I am heading straight from Chennai to Kerrala to Ammachi's ashram, and hope Jeanne will join me there. If not, I'm on my own in India (!) which is a scary prospect, but I know I'll do fine.

Well, I appreciate everyone's messages and encouragement through this Thailand chapter of my trip. I have a feeling it won't be as easy to access the internet in India, but I will try to get out at least one letter.

Love,
Suzanne




Advertisement



26th January 2006

Your massage school
My friend wants to know what school you studied massage at in Chiang Mai? Can you either post the name of the school or email me? lizzz@frozenliquids.com. Thanks

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb