Well, that was a fun 31 hours (revised and updated)


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 31st 2009
Published: January 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Trans-Pacific leg

Los Angeles to Hong Kong

Additional maps: Inter-Asia leg

Deleted; re-posted with spelling errors corrected, time zones fixed, and parentheses opened or closed as needed; updated. And, I hope, with a transit map.

1/29
9:25 PM
LAX
After various disruptions, I was very happy to see N before I left—I wasn't expecting to. She did need to drop me at the airport three hours before my flight, where both my checked and carry-on bags were inspected, swabbed, and rummaged through. I then discovered that (perhaps due to software incompatibility, perhaps to the finicky nature of iPods) my iPod was empty, where previously I had loaded 56 hours of audio books. Two hours were spent unfruitfully (but at least I was interested) in trying to figure out why the computer knew all the files on the iPod but couldn't play them, whereas the iPod merely insisted that it had no songs or books. This was initially very frustrating, since I have a house-to-hotel transit of 31 hours in this direction, and having been so thoroughly scrutinized, I didn't want to break security to look for a book in Eugene's tiny non-book store (the non-bookstore inside the perimeter had nothing interesting). Fortunately, I had a copy of Obama's The Audacity of Hope with me, so I started in on that. Also fortunately, my Portland to Los Angeles flight was shifted from Horizon (flying in which is like being on a flying riding mower) to Alaska, and I happen to know every place a book can be purchased in PDX terminals C and D. I had about 5 minutes to duck into the airport Powell's and grab a new copy of How to See Yourself as You Really Are by the Dalai Lama (Tibet or Nepal in my Books of the World Challenge) and a used copy of Michael Chabon's The Mysteries of Pittsburgh. If that's the only thing to go wrong on the trip, I'll be thrilled.

The flight to Los Angeles was fine. I took my morning prescriptions (including Malarone, an anti-malarial) since it was morning in Asia. I read about 200 pages of Obama, which was very interesting following the book I just finished, M. T. Anderson's second Octavian Nothing: Traitor to the Nation: The Kingdom on the Waves. Though one is a young adult novel and one an essay by the president, both discuss slavery in the U.S. with an emphasis on the betrayal of the slaves by the country's founders. I like reading a book and then finding that the next book, chosen more or less at random, has overlapping themes, topics, or symbols. There isn't much I like more than pattern recognition.

I enjoyed the change to Los Angeles's warmish breeze from the cold, foggy thermal inversion in the area I just left. The printed tag for my luggage apparently is unreadable by man or scanning device; I am to speak to the gate representative “to make sure they load it.” This is why you should always travel in clothes you could wear professionally (which I am) with a change of undergarments in your carry-on (which I have).

The international terminal is under construction and pretty torn up. I'm sitting on the floor (by the electrical outlets) charging up my phone, then I may hunt for a more pleasant area to wait for my 12:05 AM flight to Hong Kong. There's a screaming child who may be ill in the next bank of seats, and absolutely nothing here at the very end of the terminal. I'd post this, but T-Mobile isn't working on this end of the terminal either, even though I get a 100%!s(MISSING)ignal.

1/31
4:50 AM (local time; it's 12:50 PM on 1/29 in Oregon)
Over Japan, due west of Mt. Fuji

The Cathay Pacific staff was very helpful and located my luggage about 20 minutes before boarding. I did wake up in the night thinking, “Maybe I should have double-bagged the Krazy Glue.” I have Krazy Glue for emergency wound care and certain kinds of quick repair, in case you're wondering. And “wake up” is a misstatement if it suggests a single event rather than 11 hours of dozing and waking. I will say that setting the Brandenburg Concertos to repeat on the seat audio system all night did at least made it possible to doze, whereas without that, and even with earplugs, the prolonged and repeated bouts of cries of distress from a little boy (with a probable developmental delay) across the aisle would have kept me up.

I had a nice conversation with the young man next to me, who is making this 15-hour flight today to see his ailing grandmother in Hong Kong, then returning to the U.S. on Monday. He is an International Studies major carrying a book on human rights violations (for a midterm on Wednesday). He was interested to hear about the kinds of jobs he might get at a multinational NGO. He is a big guy and I'm sure he's uncomfortable in his middle seat.

Cathay Pacific has snazzed up its planes since I last flew with them in November, 2006. Economy seats now have a larger, sturdier tray table (which makes a big difference since I often sleep with my arms braced on the table and my head against the seat ahead of me), multi-prong electrical outlets at every seat, a good audio/video system with lots of choices, and seats that recline by sliding the seat cushion forward rather than shifting the angle of the back, which means you don't suddenly have your laptop crushed when the person ahead of you reclines, and you don't lose your leg room if you don't want to. The back of the seat is contoured for at least a little lumbar support, and the headrest wings stay where you bend them. On the down side, the seat is sized to the hips, not the shoulders, making it difficult to negotiate arm territory with one's neighbor(s). There's no seat back pocket; instead there are functionally inaccessible magazine pockets behind your heels in the seat riser. They're already full of airline magazines, and I'd think they contribute greatly to the number of forgotten articles. This wouldn't be an issue except that, at least in the central bank of seats, only the middle seat has stowage under the row ahead. I'm in an aisle seat and have a space only tall enough for my purse, slid horizontally. Among other implications of this set-up: There's nowhere to put Mr. Obama's book, or your computer, or your apple, when the food tray arrives, nor can you leave your seat unless you or your neighbor can hold your things while you wriggle out through the 1.5 foot aperture between your seat and the row ahead of you.

Breakfast should be served in within the hour: Fresh seasonal fruit (I'm hoping for dragon fruit), yogurt, and either scrambled eggs rancheros or congee with chicken and black mushroom. I plan to waste today's carbohydrates on rice, because there's little I like more than congee or soup for breakfast. Except maybe pattern recognition.

I add later that it was excellent congee, with a little lemon zest grated on top.

* * *

1/31
12:45 PM
Bangkok

I've arrived and am waiting for my room. More later, but I'll go ahead and post this. I can't get the map to work, so I'll try again later.

* * *
Now it's later.

I had dinner at a restaurant across from my hotel: Green curry chicken with pumpkin, one of my favorites. It was prepared with chicken and gourd with Thai basil, a nominal amount of carrot and bell pepper, lime leaves snipped from the restaurant garden, in a lightly spiced coconut broth. It was fantastic, and cost about $3. My Singha beer (served with a straw, so I drank it that way) cost about $2.60, whereas fresh coconut juice, served from a coconut, would run about $0.70.
* * *
Travel tips as I think of them.

Hotel hygiene:

Enough with the bugs?



Advertisement



Tot: 0.228s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0767s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb