The past present and future.


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 22nd 2009
Published: January 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post



Well its midnight on Thursday the 21 of January and apparently a new era has begun with the inauguration of President Barrack Obama. First of all I will point out that I am English and half Italian. So why am I so interested in this? Well as I am currently sat in a hot sticky night in Bangkok, I have spent the last 2 and a half weeks desperately trying to find a way to go to school in the USA, I wanted to study nursing, this may be out of reach as I was not too great back in school and would have to go and retake the exams that I should have tried harder at in hindsight, It leaves me wondering a lot about my future. I have to finally decide as its inevitable that as I always have high goals I will have to return to school.
I am excited at the fact that I could have to write an assignment and at the moment I have a lot of friends who are in university and when I talk to them they tell me
“I cant talk I have to write this paper” or “this assignment is driving me crazy”
what I would give to be able to write a paper about anything right now, I have a craving to learn and this time I’m focussed enough to get through it. All I need is that first chance to be accepted into a school, the second major thing is paying for it, I am pretty sure that I will have to pay a lot and it will take years to pay back but I will love paying back every penny as I managed to earn myself a degree. Even when I was told by my psychology teacher after failing my A level in the subject:-
“you shouldn’t go to university as you won’t last a year” maybe she was trying to save me from yet another educational failure? Or trying to save me money by not going, whatever it was it turned out I did last a year…. But not two. This has haunted me ever since and even more so now that my friends are now all graduated or in the process of and yes I’m in Asia and apparently I’ve seen 9% of the world which is a lot more than most people will see and everyone says I am so lucky to go all these places and I haven’t really seen my friends from home for about two years now. I think I am just staying away as the best jobs that I manage to find are ones that when I was saving to travel I would actually now, given the choice of
A, watching bread go by for 12 hours a shift 6 days a week all for 5 85 an hour. Or ….
B trying to walk through oncoming traffic blindfolded,
I would have to choose the latter.
I actually don’t know why im writing this in a travel blog or if I will publish it, but I have mentioned Asia and will mention my trip to Cambodia that is coming up. This educational dream however, has plagued me for the last few years but even more so these last couple of weeks. I must say to Becca the biggest thank you. As whilst studying and writing papers, this amazing, wonderful woman still found the time to try and help me, I am a very lucky man to have someone like her and I think the fact that I know that makes me appreciate her a lot more.
Now I have ranted about my short comings and failures in schooling, I will get to the travel part. If I remember correctly, I left you in a bar in ban Chang outside of Rayong? Yes ok? I’ll carry on then.
Well that week was fairly boring to say the least working for someone who has given up on his own business isn’t fun, I spent the week mainly opening up the bar at around 4 30 and compiling a play list on my laptop and spending the night on the internet waiting for 10 30 to come by. I closed at 10: 30 because no one had come in to drink at all the whole night. So what’s the point of staying open 2 more hours?
I would then be too awake to go to sleep so I would stay online until about 4 am and fall asleep. I would wake up at around 2 and stay in bed online and get up shower and go down to do it all again. In all honesty I think because there was nothing to do in the town itself apart from drink ( I don’t ), I opened the bar for something to do. I got a free place to stay and 300 baht out of it though.
The day came to go back to Bangkok where I’m sure I have already written about so I’ll jump to now.
Well I have met up with Dan a friend that I went to university with briefly. We have decided to go to Cambodia together and we will be leaving in a couple of days to get the train to the border hopefully setting off at 4 am and getting to the town of Siem Riap that night at some point. This will be fun to travel with someone as I haven’t travelled with anyone since I was with Becca in China. It is also quite nice to have someone to spend time with again, as the last week I have been pretty much alone.
I will say it again I don’t know why I am writing about the stuff I am writing about, but it has been bothering me and with no one to talk to out here it is a nice outlet to vent onto so there you are. If you have any ideas by the way on helping me get into school in the USA as I have no clue where to begin, then don’t hesitate to leave a comment.
Peace x


Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb