Thailand is crazy


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 17th 2006
Published: January 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Bangkok1Bangkok1Bangkok1

What Phra Kraew
Thailand is crazy... why?

It all starts at Bangkok National Airport. There is a freaking golf course in between the landing strips. I kid you not. I did not even see a fence around it. I would not like to collect the golf balls for all the wannabe Tiger Woods playing there.

The place is so cheap...crazy. I can get 3 great meals a day for less than 200 Bath (4.5 euro) and have a nice room for 2.5 euro or less.

The place is so hot...over 30 degrees... and it's winter!!! Looking forward to summer...ahum

Traffic is crazy. Red light means cars might stop. Crossing a street means, jumping in as soon as you think you can cross 1/4 of the road, waiting there while all traffic flies past you and repeating this procedure until the 'other side' is reached. A motorcycle easily transports a whole family. I saw them pass by several times Mom, dad and 2 children on 1 scooter.

This is the first country I've been where bargaining I actually fun. They say a price and you smile and... The price goes down. The bigger the smile the more the price goes
bangkok 2bangkok 2bangkok 2

Wat Phra Kraew detail
down. I'm getting good prices ; ))

The people are so welcoming... even with all the 'White trash' around here. These people come here and disrespect the most basic rules of Thai society, are rude and arrogant... but the Thai people stay friendly. You might say it's just for the money but it's not. I'll talk about this later.

So yes I think this place is crazy, but in a good way...

Bangkok



I was planning to just fly in and go north as I was coming back here later in my trip but changed my mind and hung around for two days.

Nice start... 5 guesthouses I tried, all full. It's high season. I ended up in a nice family place...got some basic Thai languages. Unfortunately there were also 2 long-time Euro residents that spend their days getting drunk... A move was inevitable.

Ph Khao San is a phenomenon with Thailand travellers. Basically 1 street full of cheap hotels, tourist shops, bars and a crowd or shall we call it a 'freak show' you can't imagine. It's good to sit down for a while and have a look at the people but this
bangkok 3bangkok 3bangkok 3

Wat Phra Kraew
is not my cup of tea.

Temples, they are all over Bangkok. I visited the Wat Phra Kraew and royal palace... impressive... big, gold everywhere and and too many details to look at. With the risk of a temple overdose I also checked out Wat Po. On the way there I could avoid the famous '20 bath tuk tuk sightseeing tour ' scam that my guidebook had warned me about.
Wat Po houses another huge Buddha (have a feeling I will see a lot more of these). This one is 46m long and 15 high and it shows Buddha lying on his side at the moment he went into Nirwana ( as I've been told).







Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

bangkok4bangkok4
bangkok4

Wat Phrae Kraew
bangkok 5bangkok 5
bangkok 5

Big Buddha (46 m long)at Wat Po. Check out the toes in the front, decorated with pearls.


20th January 2006

Way to go, Jan! Are you planning to go and see a demonstration of Thai box? Anyway, enjoy your stay, wherever you may be at the moment!
20th January 2006

de Thaïsche glimlach
Jan mijne man, Ik volg geboeid je reisverslag. Fascinerend! We hebben onlangs een nieuwe wagen aangekocht en een glimlach haalt hier de prijs helaas niet naar beneden! Benieuwd wat het geheim is van de Thaïsche blijmoedigheid? Invloed van het Boedhisme? Tot nog eens, Nonkel Stef
20th January 2006

Crazy trip guy
Eh Jan, it seems wonderful !! As I said to Marijke, we are going to have a great trip around the world Gracias a ti, hombre !! The pictures and comments are so great, it's like our break of the day in Acceptance each time you're sending something.. please continue !! Hope you're all right, you just sound in a great state of spirit, I particularly love those views of Buddhas, this golden one in Bangkok looks superb, it really gives me the feeling I'd love to visit the place ... but I would shoot at those "White trash" you're speaking about, they are the best example of arrogance I hate... don't loose your temper man even if we could understand ... Take great care of you,and pleasure to read you next time !! Christine (the crazy girl !)
21st January 2006

Go with the flow
Yooo Jan, super dat we hier in Gent al jouw verhalen kunnen volgen. Geniet daar nog van de Thaise gastvrijheid en take care! Ken
24th January 2006

I am a long term (11 years) 'falang' in Thailand, and understand your comments regarding some of the 'trash' that come to Thailand, it used to upset me, but people should understand that "Thai" means free in 'pasa thai' and therefore good
25th January 2006

nice price!
hello big bro.. als alles daar zo 'cheap' is ... denk je dan es aan je hele lieve, eenzame zusje die dolgraag cadeautjes krijgt?! veel amusement! en om met de woorden van ons moeder af te sluiten; "zij wijs éé" dikke knuffffffel-kus L*

Tot: 0.243s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 20; qc: 105; dbt: 0.1054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb