Hong Kong part 2


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Lantau Island
January 10th 2006
Published: January 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Lan 1Lan 1Lan 1

Buddha and monastery temple

Lantau Island



I guess I'm not really a city guy because after only 2 days in the big town, I found myself looking for some countryside/nature. A great thing to do in that case is visit one of the outlying islands of Hong Kong. I chose for 'Lantau', the biggest one.

I went over to the giant Buddha, they have there. It's the largest 'outdoors, seated, bronze' Buddha in the world, 34 m or so. Driving to the place, it is quite impressive to see the statue from down in the valley. It looks like a new man made hill top.
The ticket to the Buddha and the Po Lin monastery included free veggie lunch at the monastery... yummie, a real feast for this guy.

After all the spiritual and gastronomic stuff it was time for some hiking so I went into the hills for some good walks. unfortunately my physical condition isn't what it used to be and so I have been suffering from muscle ache afterwards.

Last day I spent just walking through the city, ended up in a small but beautiful zoo and botanical garden. Also went to the 'HK walk of fame'
Lan 2Lan 2Lan 2

Monastery
and had to get a picture of the Bruce Lee statue. Also kind of shook hands with Jet Lee and Jackie Chan (kung fu actors)... well actually they put their hands in cement one day and I just put my hands on the cement. Jet Lee's hands were like a little kids hands and Jackie's hands were almost the same size as mine but he must have been cheating...

Wow these were long entries. Internet is free in the HK library...

I'm in Bangkok now and it's ahum... crazy...and hot!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

HK 6HK 6
HK 6

Lunch time in HK
HK 7HK 7
HK 7

Bruce Lee and HK


12th January 2006

lang?
Ja, spaar ze maar een beken é, uw woorden. Of uw voorspelling komt uit da we op 't einde niks meer te lezen zullen krijgen van u...!! tkcr dude! ;-)

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0217s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb